Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Question about my first crash

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Help' started by Stevenas, Jul 12, 2015.

  1. Stevenas

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Little Rock, Arkansas
    Ok, here is how it happened. About a week ago I was ending a flight with RTH. It was coming a little too close to a tree about 3 meters above the ground. So I switched to ATTI mode that's when it dropped like a rock!

    I bent an arm and broke a prop. I have since replaced the shell, recalibrated everything and it seems to fly like new.

    My question, what did I do wrong or what possibly went wrong?
     
  2. Erikdom

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you flying in standaard mode?
     
  3. Stevenas

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Little Rock, Arkansas
    NAZA mode.
     
  4. Stevenas

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Little Rock, Arkansas
    Let me clarify a little here. I programmed the S1 switch for: Up GPS, Middle position ATTI and down position for RTH.
    So, I had S1 in the down position and it was returning to home but coming very close to a tree so I switched S1 to the middle position for ATTI. That is when things took a turn for worse and gravity took over.
     
  5. Erikdom

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    That must be Allright. Dropping is never a prog. Case! Sorry iT Will be one off the unexplaineble crashes!
     
  6. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Just remember.. on the 3.10 and newer firmware, you still have some control on RTH. If there are obstacles, you can still rise and negotiate your way around.
    How was RTH triggered? was it from flying out of range or did you trigger via app/S1 toggle?
    I think you enabled NAZA in the phantom assist and some how accidently enabled manual mode on the S1 toggle.
    ATTI will NEVER cause it drop like rock. ATTI is still using the IMU barometer/altimeter to maintain height.
     
  7. Stevenas

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Little Rock, Arkansas
    See my post above.
    I triggered RTH with the S1 programmed to the toggled down position (failsafe). Then I toggled S1 to the mid position which is ATTI.