Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Quality is suffering from compression

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Fir3b1rd, Feb 5, 2016.

  1. Fir3b1rd

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    It's taking so long for me to upload on you tube that after 6 hours of waiting for a 3 minute video I went and used a different file compression thingy and it only took 15minutes.
    Thing is, my eyes aren't that great and I'm wondering how bad the quality is?
    This is from my p3a, need some advice?

     
    Trackman1 likes this.
  2. blue_goose

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    6
    Lower the camera and get rid of some of the sky, other than that it looks good.
     
  3. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Your bird produces a HUGE file, you want to use a smaller version for web use or it will take forever.
     
  4. SouthernPhantom

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    122
    Use compression software that comes with most video editing programs. Many even specify YouTube or Vimeo, etc.
     
  5. Fir3b1rd

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    I'll have to look into that. I tried uploading it to youtube without compression and after 7 hours I finally went to a third part.
     
  6. Fir3b1rd

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    I'm completely a noob with any of this.... so I used 'handbrake'? Anything else I should look into?
     
    Trackman1 likes this.
  7. Trackman1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Handbrake does excellent compression. Especially in 2 pass mode. Simple to use and create presets. And its free.
     
  8. Fir3b1rd

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    2 passmode? I went to 'video' and slid it to '28'.
    Nice to see I did it right, hahaha
     
  9. shorttimer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Rocky Mountains
    Trackman,

    I used Handbrake as well but still created a fairly large file. Can you clarify the 2 pass mode you are referring to. I can't remember but think I selected the universal device and gave me a 720 output.

    Thanks
     
  10. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    Somewhere YouTube publishes a recommended file format / size and compression. I use Premiere Pro that has baked in presets for most things but Handbrake ought to have something like that. Problem is that Handbrake is *very* flexible and will output all manner of things. You can go way wrong.

    That said, looks OK. You could probably sharpen it up in post if you wanted to spend the time.
     
  11. Fir3b1rd

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    ^^that how would I 'sharpen it and clean it up?!
     
  12. m0j0

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    530
    Plenty of suggestions... but I have to know where you started before I can give you some solutions. For example, what did you upload. RAW uncompressed video straight from the bird? 3 minutes of video? What was the size of the upload?
     
  13. Fir3b1rd

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    I started with mov file and converted it to an mp4

    Right now I have another mp4 directly from the p3a- 1.8 gb... what should I do
     
  14. Fir3b1rd

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    I went ahead and downloaded premiere pro, I'm trying to learn the software. What format do you preset to?
     
  15. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    In Export Settings:

    Format H.264 -- that's what Vimeo likes, I'm guessing that YouTube is the same
    Preset: YouTube 1080P HD (or whatever specific size you want to export it to - there is a large list of presets for all manner of outputs).

    You might want to Google up YouTube recommended settings for more details. That's how I rigged it for Vimeo - it's a well trodden road.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. m0j0

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    530
    Ahhh... Now we are talking. Use the YouTube setting in premiere / Adobe media encoder. Doing so will make the process faster because YouTube won't compress it again. I use 1080 when encoding to YouTube and match the frame rate to the frame rate I shot the video.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  17. Phantom751874

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    269
    I just throw it up to YouTube, they convert it, it takes time but it still looks good.
     
  18. m0j0

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    530
    Exactly... If you have premiere... You don't have to do it that way. You can encode it directly to YouTube standards.. It will upload faster as it is a smaller file and will be immediately available without the need to convert.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  19. m0j0

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    530
    Or you can upload a huge file that takes ages to upload depending on your speed and then wait for YouTube to strip down your file in the conversion process which also takes forever... Or you can output your video to the YouTube setting in premiere and encode it that way. Making it YouTube ready...


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  20. Fir3b1rd

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    20
    yeah the forever wait doesn't work for me. this is a mew hobby and I need the computer for money making things.
    I'm going to try the premier encoder route tomorrow.
    thank ya'll