Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Quality any good?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by articandy, Mar 22, 2016.

  1. articandy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    8
    [​IMG]


    What do you all think looks blurry to me


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. articandy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    8
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,114
    Likes Received:
    1,648
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    What were your settings?
     
  4. AG Drone Works

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    25
    Did you remove the plastic film protecting the lens at delivery?
     
  5. articandy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes removed plastic. Settings were just standard + raw I let it hover for a few moments and there was no wind.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. Leenanj

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    USA
    It looks blurry to me.
    Did you get these right off the memory card?
     
  7. Quadcopterpilot

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
    Definitely out of focus.
     
  8. articandy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    8
    These are from the Dji go app saved to my camera roll


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. PrecisionAeroworks

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Look at the images on the SD card in the aircraft. These are the (~1/4 resolution) 960x720 downrez'd images that the mobile device pulls back as previews. The full resolution images on the SD card are 4000x3000.
     
  10. Lonewolf

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    446
    Likes Received:
    108
    Check your camera lens or filter for either fingerprints or smudges.
     
  11. Luis V.

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    Yes the images are soft. However, the shots look like it is from motion blur. I mentioned this in another thread as well. This platform for shooting photos is not ideal. Regardless on how little wind there is, you will have motion. These cameras are 12MP on very small sensors. Any slight motion will be obvious.

    The point is you need to compensate for the motion. In the case of this camera, that means higher shutter speeds than what you would use for video. A photo with 1/60 to 1/120 of a second shutter speed will simply be too slow. I'd be going to 1/500 at minimum. 1/1000 would be better.

    So getting back to these photos, I would never use "standard" to capture the photos. This is simply adding compression at the cost of quality. Shoot in RAW and highest JPG you can. If you can process the DNG RAW file, then convert to JPG then you are going to get the best quality.

    Getting back to the questions asked.... What were the settings?

    Shutter Speed?
    ISO?
    Filter on the camera?

    I'll assume this shot came from a resize of the standard JPG. If so, did you sharpen the shot at all? How did you resize?
     
    grottoli and fastsmiles like this.
  12. Richard Gozinya

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Lawrence, Kansas USA
    We need to see the real ones from the drone SD card. Hopefully containing EXIF INFO info as well. Were you using touch screen to set exposure/focus points or just letting the camera do its thing?
     
  13. peterepeat69

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    110
    Looks awesome actually


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  14. Luis V.

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    Good idea....

    Articandy.... If you place the JPG shot directly from the camera and post it, we will be able to see all the info. The EXIF data was stripped from the photos you uploaded.

    BTW... Just to clarify... There is no focus on the Phantom 3 Pro cameras. They are fixed focus cameras just like a GoPro would be. The point selection on the DJI Go App is simply to allow you to select what is being metered for exposure. For example, if you want to meter the landscape vs. the sky or an object instead of the background. Etc.
     
  15. richardhurst

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    39
    If you have Photoshop just go to filter - sharpen - camera shake and run it.