Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

PV2+v3 Gimbal Board replacement?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Help' started by Brottworks, Jul 12, 2015.

  1. Brottworks

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Olreans LA. USA
    I stupidly broke the ribbon cable mount to the gimbal board directly below the bird-
    20150712_122830.jpg
    The rest works (i hope- )- but I cant test it (?) without changing the ribbon cable-
    and cant do that without a new board-
    or a way to jump my broken ribbon connection-
    have looked at USB options for a Zenmuse, but know it probably won't work on PV2+V3
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...ue&ref_=ox_sc_act_title_2&smid=A2YGVOB7APVMLY
    Any advise?
    Or Ideas on where I can buy that mystery board?
    Not ready to spend $500 for a new Camera that only works on this bird-
    and seen Walkera mods here-
    http://www.phantompilots.com/threads/v2-camera-gimbal-change.47555/#post-446970
    and
    http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2213815
    here for much cheaper, but those look to be very tough...
    any advise helps,
    THANKS!!!
    Andy
     
  2. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    Most cameras damage is in the gimbal, shaft or pots. You can purchase a damaged gimbal fromebay and salvage the board.
     
  3. Brottworks

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Olreans LA. USA
    May have to, but the risk vs rewards and proprietary nature of pv2+ makes me question spending any more so i am looking to build my own as to make parts easeir to change and access. + the ability to use 433mhz for control and 1.2ghz for fpv...
    Im sorry to see dji dropped the f550, still can get it, but know its going to be harder to find parts...
    Know this is a stupid idea, but has anyone torn down a vision plus platform and used parts on differt frame?
    I have so many pv2+ extra parts to work with...
    thanks
    andy
    ps. Do u know if a gimbal board is different on a v3 from earlier v2+?
     
  4. Arthurgo

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA in Miami or in Brazil on the South
    hey brottworks did you get a board ? i m in need of the same one, i had a accident and the big chip on the board got unsolder ? and i dont think i can fix that ?
    IMG_1783.JPG
     
  5. Brottworks

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Olreans LA. USA
    I purchased a used one on ebay with the yaw motor and housing for $85-
    waiting to get it- not sure it will work?
    Does anyone know if it's compatible with the rest of my pv2+v3 Camera/gimbal
    + I have and extra yaw motor and housing for sale soon, please contact if you want to buy.
    Thanks,
    Andy
     
  6. Arthurgo

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA in Miami or in Brazil on the South
    ok the housing you are talking about is the gimbal housing ? do you also have the board and the arm ? for the gimbal? p2v+
     
  7. Brottworks

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Olreans LA. USA
    I have an extra gimbal housing that's directly below the bird, and yaw motor- not an extra board.
    Although I do have my original board with broken ribbon cable mount as pictured-
    AB
     
  8. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    guys i got bunch of them in if you still need them.
    PM me
     
  9. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Zenmuse does work. I have this setup. Just need a $10 15cm zenmuse cable and preferably an android phone.
    http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2213815&page=17

    Just remember, the V2 camera and gimbal are slightly different with V3. Eg, The bearing cases are larger and therefore the housing is different.
     
  10. Essexboy

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London England
    please contact me