Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

PV2 camera vision delay

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by michaeljp, Apr 15, 2014.

  1. michaeljp

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    After reading about the PV2 before i purchased it, it said the camera had a 1/10th sec delay. Now that i have the PV2 the delay in vision is about 3 or more seconds. Anyone else have this issue?
     
  2. BMEWS

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire UK
    yep. I think it's something to do with the latest update. Also may depend upon the version of app you're running. btw, where did you see it stated that delay was 1/10th of a second?

    Hope this helps

    Bmews
     
  3. 38Special

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irondale, Alabama
    Yes, a few threads about it with the new app. Lower your frame rate to 15 from 30. It solved it on mine.
     
  4. michaeljp

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    It in the overview section of the PV2 sale page on websites. But it might mean 1/10th second if your panning the camera or the like.
     
  5. michaeljp

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK ill try that and see how it goes. Thanks.
     
  6. michaeljp

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gday mate, i looked on the iphone app to change the frame rate but could not find it. Where is it located?
     
  7. FlyingFox

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Cheshire UK
    Under settings and preview
     

    Attached Files:

  8. michaeljp

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks mate,
    But if i want to shoot in 1080p im stuck with whatever it says? Isn't 640x480 15fps and 320x240 15fps a much lower quality movie?
     
  9. 007trains

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Thats just the preview quality not the actual recording
     
  10. michaeljp

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got ya mate, Thank you. So by doing this what i see on the iphone should be almost realtime from the PV2/
     
  11. 007trains

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Yep. Lowering the preview quality means less data has to be sent to the phone so it should be faster and give you longer range
     
  12. jimre

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    Depends on your phone's processing speed, too - but generally yes. The CPU in older phones like - iPhone 4 - sometimes can't decode & display the Vision's preview video in real-time unless you lower the preview resolution to 320 x 240. Newer phones are faster at this.

    EDIT: Just speculation, but I'd guess the DJI Vision app doesn't offload video processing to your phone's GPU - which is why playback is so dependent on your phone's CPU speed.
     
  13. brett2006

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Download the latest app, and in the setting, under preview quality, which item are you choosing ? They added one higher resolution and made it as default. Maybe that resolution is too big for your phone to decode in realtime.
     
  14. michaeljp

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that info fellas. I am using a Iphone 4S but got an ipad mini today. I'll lower the preview on both devices and see how it goes. Thanks for your help.