PV Image Quality, and Techniques For Panorama Stiching

Reaction score
Greetings:

I have had my Phantom Vision for 10 Days now and it has been great fun. The Image Quality for still images from the Vision is nice, and this feature sets it apart from its Go-Pro toting predecessor. I have been an avid panorama photographer for over a decade now and I wanted to share my technique for panorama stitching images from the vision and share a couple of images.

Adobe Photoshop is what I use to stich panoramas. My first attempts to stich panoramas from the vision with Photoshop did not work out. The barrel distortion from the PV lens was too much for Photoshop's stitching tool to process. So the first step it to correct the lens distortion on the images before you try to stich.

Step One - Open the series of images you wish to stich with Photoshop.

Step Two - Correct the Distortion.
a. Select the Filter Pull Down Menu.
b. Choose "Lens Correction..."
c. Under Camera Make choose Cannon (Canon has the best lens I have found for matching up with the PV)
d. Under Camera Model choose "EOS-1Ds Mark III"
e. Under Lens Profiles choose "Sigma DG 8mm f/3.5 EX"
f. Click The "OK" Button at the top of the Dialogue
g. Click on the Tab for the next image in your panorama that needs correction.
h. Go to the Filter Pull Down Menu and choose the very top item (which is the previously applied "Lens Correction")
I. Apply Lens Correction to all of your Images
j. Choose "Save As" for each of your images (I give them a new name with corr at the end to show that they have been corrected)

Step Three - Stich The Panorama
a. From the "File" pull down menu choose "Automate" then you can select "Photomerge..."
b. Click on the "Browse..." button to bring up the file selection dialogue window.
c. Navigate to where you saved the corrected images and <Ctrl> click all of the lens corrected images you wish to stich.