Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Put in perspective p3p that return home safe,possible?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Rick hise, Aug 6, 2015.

  1. Rick hise

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    6
    i wonder if anyone in this group has an educated guess of birds out there that go up an return safely, Someone posted your more likely to see post about problems more so than good, Any thoughts. ( I know the DJI bean counter isn't reading this)
    PS
    Let's rule out pilot error
     
  2. Alex_

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    My guess is that ~ 98% of the P3s out there are good with no major issues (especially now that 1.1.26 is over). So your likelihood of coming back on any given flight (ruling out pilot error/stupidity) is probably like 99.99%.

    I've been flying RC a long time and can't count how many times I've seen people crash because they get disorientated or push the sticks the wrong way. The p3 is really easy to fly but you need a lot of stick time to make your fingers automatically do what the brain wants.
     
    Goldni and Fjallis like this.
  3. Chris Vedeler

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Scottsdale, Arizona USA
    I should have lost my P3P at least 12 times by now. Mostly due to my stupidity. RTH has saved me each and every time. While I'm sure it is not 100% idiot proof, I can attest to the fact that if you calibrate things correctly (learn what does what and how to fly it) and let the P3 do what it is designed to do, it will come home.

    Where you can get into trouble is flying WAY too far downwind so it doesn't know how much battery it takes to get back and doesn't make it. Also, if the RTH altitude is set too low it may fly into something trying to get home.
     
    Alex_ likes this.
  4. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    There is a video on youtube of an experienced owner flying his inspire 1 behind a block of flats, he forgot to set a higher RTH height, to say he was lucky is an understatement, it missed the building by inches.
     
  5. JohnK

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    Hudson Valley, New York
    My RTH saved me once when I sent it far away and I lost my link to the controller. I set my RTH altitude quite high, and after a few nervous minutes, there it was, hovering over our heads. Thank goodness. I still have to get better at learning how to determine direction(nose orientation) from the map- I just wasn't paying close enough attention to the distance and the nose direction.
     
  6. Mordor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    114
    So far..so good.....but less than 10 flights...
     
  7. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,765
    Likes Received:
    3,473
    Try using the radar display .. it's quite intuitive.
    It clearly shows where the Phantom is and what way it is facing.
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Rick hise

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    6

    this fix is slowly soaking in thanks. us new folks sometimes have to read it a repeated a few times. Thanks to all above
     
  9. erestajaya

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fly P3A twice everyday for the last two months.. RTH works very well..
     
  10. Alton Mills

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Where abouts in the app do you set the RTH altitude
     
  11. Alton Mills

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Over look my reply. I found the adjustment in the advance setting.sorry just a brain gletch.