Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Purple Lines Video Issues

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by McGuy281, May 22, 2016.

  1. McGuy281

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just bought a new P3P and whenever I use video mode, there are random purple lines covering the screen. They happen at random but sometimes my screen is full of them. It doesn't happen in picture mode, which works without issue. This issue ruins all my videos so I'm pretty PO'ed as it is. I haven't crashed it and changing the SD card does not help. I've heard that the issue is probably related to the ribbon cable but I'm hesitant to try to fix it or remove the ends from their slots, as they look difficult to get back in. Any ideas would be great thanks.

    PS-
    Using this SD card (changing it does not fix)
    Amazon.com: SanDisk Extreme PLUS 64GB microSDXC UHS-I/U3 Card with Adapter (SDSQXSG-064G-GN6MA): Computers & Accessories

    and using my Samsung Galaxy Tab A as monitor
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,929
    Likes Received:
    5,575
    Location:
    US
    The Tab A is not the fastest kid on the block, but I was able to get mine to work pretty well by ensuring all other apps were shut down. Perhaps there are too many resources in use on your tablet. An app like 360 Security will help you free up your resources.

    Do you have another mobile device you can try? That would at least tell you whether the issue is your Phantom or your mobile device.
     
  3. McGuy281

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, changing the device to my LG G3 did not help. I owned another P3P right before this one but returned it due to a different (non-purple) issue.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,929
    Likes Received:
    5,575
    Location:
    US
    I'd recommend you try removing and re-attaching the cables at the top of the gimbal or send your Phantom into DJI for repair if you're not comfortable trying this.
     
  5. McGuy281

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well yeah, it looks difficult
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,929
    Likes Received:
    5,575
    Location:
    US
    It's a fairly simple procedure. You just need to disconnect the pins from the gimbal. This should help:

     
  7. G Lee

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    GA
    Wouldnt this work be warranty work from DJI? I purch. my p3a july 2016

    Sent from my SM-G900V using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. McGuy281

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I contacted DJI and they fixed it for free. I believe they changed their policies since then with repairs so I would check with them to see if you are covered.
     
  9. G Lee

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    GA
  10. G Lee

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    GA
    Just an upadate. Repaired and on the way back from DJI. Defective gimbal pcb , or video downlink board.

    Sent from my SM-G930V using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. raymond324

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm having the same problem do have any more information that I could use so that I might be able to fix mine because I am out of warranty please thanks Ray


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  12. G Lee

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    GA
    DJI said it was a defective gimbal pcb. It was $165.00. You might search for one online. You can also check with Droneneards in Fla.

    Sent from my SM-G930V using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    #12 G Lee, Dec 3, 2016 at 6:17 PM
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2016 at 6:29 PM
  13. raymond324

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you very much this is driving me crazy I changed the cable twice thinking that I had a bad cable but each time the screen had those lines thanks Ray


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
    G Lee likes this.
  14. raymond324

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm sorry but I'm new to this and I want to be sure that I understand DJI said it's the gimbal pcb is that the one that the camera is connected to or the one underneath the VPS were the gray wires go into thanks.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  15. G Lee

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    GA