Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

PS Standard Ribbon Cable Question

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Ghost Rider, Apr 29, 2016.

  1. Ghost Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    87
    I'm replacing the camera ribbon and rebuilding the whole unit. I am stuck on how to get the ribbon unplugged from the camera board. All the videos out there explain how to do this on a Pro or Advanced but that plug is different. It's similar to the other ones where it has the lock that pops up. This plug doesn't have a lock that I can see. Someone help please.

    Thanks.
     
  2. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,687
    Likes Received:
    5,713
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I have not seen one for the Standard ether Ghost other than the one a member here showed but would hope it was close to that .
    We've been having to figure out a lot of this stuff on this one on our own .
    We like the ugly stepchild .I will look and see what I can find .
     
  3. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,687
    Likes Received:
    5,713
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I was wrong :eek: Photos: Phantom 3 Standard (P3S) camera disassembled
    Edit / nope that's just the camera
     
  4. mdowney58

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Mountain City, TN
    It does have the little clip. Did you remove the rear cover from the camera? I replaced my Standard ribbon cable a month ago, and each cable end (connection point) slides into a terminal, and each terminal has the latch. Some are on the opposite side from others if my memory serves

    Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
     
  5. Ghost Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    87
    I got everything installed right. But nothing happens when I power the drone up. The camera still doesn't work. Didi your work fine?

    I downloaded the firmware update but I cant send it to the bird because it says I have no memory card. I'm having a disconnect between the SD card and the bird.

    Nobody that has replaced a ribbon has had this issue?
     
  6. mdowney58

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Mountain City, TN
    Yes, mine worked fine, but my issue wasn't like yours.
    I crashed, and simply bent my roll arm. After the crash, everything still worked.
    During disassembly, I accidentally ripped my ribbon cable in two, so that's why I replaced it.
    You mentioned that the camera connector didn't have the clip (in every YouTube video I watched, they called it a switch).
    Yet you had already replaced your cable, so if you didn't flip the switch (clip) up to release the cable, and the close the switch on the new cable, I don't know how you can have a proper connection.

    Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk