Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. Marc Hufnagel

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Illinois
    Since I put the latest firmware on this P4, I've gotten the message about 'propeller guards mounted, obstacle avoidance turned off' 3 times.

    I don't have them; is anyone else seeing this on a routine basis?
     
  2. Sim597

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    266
    I don't even see P4 guards offered anywhere, do the guards fit from a P3 on a P4 even?
    My answer is no I haven't seen this warning, I've read the updates about them, but have not seen a single guard that is for the P4
     
    PaulJohn likes this.
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,036
    Likes Received:
    5,606
    Location:
    US
    No.
     
  4. WWK888

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    195
    Just make sure nothing is nearby when you power up your bird. I got that message the first time I flew my P4 and I think it was detecting my case nearby. I rebooted the bird after moving it and was well.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    snowghost likes this.
  5. Marc Hufnagel

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Illinois
    clear areas all 3 times. I can understand how that might do it though.
     
  6. Jussaguy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    385
    I thought this was one of the firmware fixes or maybe I read you need to turn off OA with guards. Not sure which but it was known.
     
  7. chris digata

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    20
    had it once before this weeks firmware, i just rebooted the phantom as it was seein one of the prop shadows. also turned the front prop - not had it since
     
  8. BriRi

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    58
    I saw it several times a couple of weeks back. P4 was sitting in grass and I think it was affecting sensor. Took off and flew fine. Haven't seen warning since but I am more careful when locating launch sites now.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. Marc Hufnagel

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Illinois
    I've o lay seen it three times; if I get it once more and things are obviously clear I may exchange.
     
  10. rwmcgeesr

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    I am seeing it as well after the last update. I have no guards???
     
  11. Fitcherama

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    40
    I've had this warning before but thankfully restarting the aircraft stopped it and I was good to go.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. Erised

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    336
    Dji just released a bunch of sfuff for the P4, prop guards for 19.00 and what i beleive is a good item to have in your case spare prop installation kits 3.00 a pair.
     
  13. Chopstix Kid

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    106
    I received it today while doing pre-flight on my deck. I turned the aircraft away from the deck railing and it went away.
     
  14. Sim597

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    266
    Happened to me the other day, I was like "oh no" it stayed after I cycled the bird, that worried me, but not after cycling the software, it also said at the same time "firmware version something something" in red


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Be sure to check the sensors for some type of debris. I actually had a insect get stuck on one of the front sensors and it was causing that error. Just thought I would mention that.
     
    snowghost likes this.
  16. Sim597

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    266
    I had an ordeal after finding a insect, or parts, it took a heck of a lot of trying to wipe it up and out? Hard to explain but the mass of it had lodged in a crevice, and I had taken so much care to get it all the first time. The next time I went out, it wouldn't come down or move between some 90' trees in my yard. It just hovered, I needed to make some corrections to get her in the middle and it just flat out locked in place, with the sensors going nuts, finally raised it up and got her down, when checked again there was the insect parts. It was giving me false positives right before the incident too, after finally getting all the guts out and recalibration get the sensors she's all good again.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Blue Bird likes this.
  17. ftolino

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    There for sale @ dji an eBay
     
  18. ftolino

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    An p4 is different than 3