Professional Photography and the Phantom in the USA

Reaction score
So, those of us in the United States are aware of the limitations that the FAA currently has in place regarding the use of drones/UAVs/quadcopters/etc. for commercial purposes. While many Phantom owners ARE using their drones commercially, I'm a bit hesitant to do so as I really don't want to incur a fine if I can avoid it! That being said -hypothetically- let's say that I'm a wedding photographer. I take hundreds of land-based, conventional photographs of the happy bride/groom, family and friends. I not only provide the photographs to the customer for a fee, but I also include a video that showcases choice photos/videos taken during the big event. This is a service for which I charge a fee. Now, let's say that I also throw in some aerial footage from my drone at no additional cost. Is THAT legal in the beady little eyes of the FAA or would they look at that as a means of marketing the land-based photos and services? I think I know the answer, but I'm curious to hear enlightened remarks from the fine folks of this forum.

Give them the video after your business has concluded.

Clearly state something along the lines of "this is on me".

I think it would be unquestionable as far as the "commercial" aspect. Marketing on the other hand, good question. When the bank gives you a pen, is it marketing or advertising, or is there a difference?

Not trying to put my head on a chopping block, just sayin' that's what I think.

I agree with IflyWY to just include the drone video as a free bonus. The FAA would only have legitimate claims against you if you actually charged a separate fee for the aerial video/photos.