Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Problems with video signal

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by vkmrv, May 29, 2016.

  1. vkmrv

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Phantom 3 Standard has an issue with the video signal. I use my OnePlus 2. My first several flights were alright and I got some decent live video range. Then it started losing the video signal after I took off. I could still control the drone and the gimbal, just didn't have a live feed. It only reconnected at about 3 meters above the ground. I recalibrated the IMU and that helped for a couple of flights, but the problem came back. IMU calibration stopped helping. Most of the times the video feed didn't work, although it was alright in some places. Sometimes it worked but for the very limited range. I turned off the video cache, and generally tried many solutions from the forum, though none of them seemed to help. I also tried using iPhone 6S, which seemed to work slightly better, but definitely not as it supposed to be.
     
  2. DroneDestination

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    126
    Update your Phantom, and then update the RC separately from the bird.
     
  3. vkmrv

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure what do you mean by updating the RC. Isn't it updated with the Phantom? Also the drone is running the latest firmware, as well as my phone app.
     
  4. Phantomix

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Weston, MA
    you probably have really heavy interference try using it about 10miles away
     
  5. vkmrv

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried flying in many different places, like open fields, parks, and in the city. Always got random results, like I got a good video signal in the city park, which had some buildings around. And yesterday I got a poor image feed when flying in a huge open park area.
     
  6. DroneDestination

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    126
    Connect the RC to phone/tablet. Leave Phantom off. Update the RC through DJI GO. Restart RC, turn on Phantom.
     
  7. vkmrv

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    It says I have the latest version installed.