Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Problem with Raw file

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by rich-s, Jun 1, 2014.

  1. rich-s

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have used Raw mode for the first time today. Dissapointed to find a line right across every photo. This doesn't appear in the Jpeg version. Any ideas on how to fix this?
    [​IMG]
     
  2. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    Try a different SD card, especially if you aren't already on a class 10.
    The RAW file is a good bit larger and you probably noticed takes several seconds to write to the card.
    Format in camera too...
     
  3. rich-s

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. Will try that next flight.
     
  4. rich-s

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still no joy :cry: . The card is a Sandisk 32GB U1 which I think is one notch up from Class 10? Tried formatting it in the camera through the app, but still have this annoying line. Sometimes at the top and sometimes in the middle of the picture. Maybe I will have to try my luck with DJI support. :roll:
    [​IMG]
    Haven't tried a different card yet. The only other one I have is the Class 4 8GB that came with the Phantom.
     
  5. jimre

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    As suggested it could be a write error on your card. But it could also be a READ error - how are you transferring the image to your computer? Card reader? Wi-Fi phone transfer? Do you have another reader/method to try?

    Unfortunately, it could also be a camera/sensor error.
     
  6. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'
    Which program was used to convert DNG to JPG?
     
  7. rich-s

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Imported as DNG files into Photoshop Elements. Only converted to jpg in order to post on here. Lines are visible in the raw file. Will try another card, but suspect camera error. I will try and ascertain if the vertical position of the line is influenced by the gimbal angle of the camera. In the large files it is quite easy to see that the information is in the line still, but it looks like it has slid about 50% to the left.
     
  8. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'
    Actually RAW data is not viewable before conversion to pixel image.
     
  9. rich-s

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, but I think you knew what I meant :roll: . In case you didn't here is a screenshot of one of my RAW files as viewed using Adobe Camera Raw 6.7.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'