Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Problem only when gimbal is attached

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by timmat1, Aug 20, 2015.

  1. timmat1

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Background:
    Bought this from a person who crashed it. crash broke the cable on the gimbal and messed up a motor. I have replaced the cable on the gimbal and replaced the motor. It works perfect, as long as it doesn't have cables connected to the gimbal. In fact, it's only one of the cables that causes the problem. It's the cable opposite form the one that "clicks" in. When it is not plugged in, no errors. When it is plugged in, the lights on the arms off the quad turn off and a little red light on the right side of the quad blinks red. There is no movement or anything of the gimbal itself. All firmware is up to date.


    I have tried unplugging them in, checking that all the wires are connected well with no messed up pins.

    I have not messed with anything up above in the quadcopter regarding this issue.


    Note: When the gimbal is connected, along with the flashing red light on the side of the quad, there is an error that pops up in the software (abnormal compass data) This only comes us when the gimbal is attached. once I unplug the gimbal, it goes away.


    Thanks for any help!!!

    BTW, I tried searching 20 mins through quite a few posts similar, but I could not find the same problem. So sorry if this is a repost.
     
    #1 timmat1, Aug 20, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2015
  2. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    With all the. Cable plugged in to the gimbel power up the quad and look at the flashing lights on the rear arms. What color are they and how and what sequence do they flash. That give info on errors and what may be needed to fix. From what you said you may want to start with your calibrations beginning with the IMU, the remote and then the compass cal outside. If not sure how to do these luck up the videos on you tube. Videos make t easier.
     
  3. timmat1

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    If a picture is worth a thousand words, hopefully a video will explain more...



    And sorry, I have done a ton of imu calibrations will no benefits (it says I didn't need them, but did them anyway)
     
  4. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    Did you do the compass calibration outside away from any metal objects?
     
  5. timmat1

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you supposed to do the compass calibration with the gimbal attached? If so it won't do it with the gimbal attached. I can only do it without the gimbal attached
     
  6. robsquad

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK
    close up pic of the end of the 3 cables would be good
     
  7. timmat1

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anything! Thanks for the help!
     

    Attached Files:

  8. timmat1

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    when you are looking a the the picture of the cables, the one on the right is the one that will turn off all lights on the phantom when attached.