Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Probably an easy one....

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by BlackTracer, May 27, 2014.

  1. BlackTracer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL USA
    If I am flying in ATTI and have 6 or more sats, and I lose TX connection, will the craft auto switch to GPS mode and RTH normally? Or will it just fly away with the wind? I don't have the big bells to test this. Hoping someone knows the answer for sure.
     
  2. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    I think it is set to land where it is if mo GPS signal.
     
  3. mikeve

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Merrickville, ON Canada
    Hi

    I can tell you how my P1 works and I would assume that the P2 works the same way...

    Regardless of the current mode (GPS/ATTI, ATTI, Manual) and IOC setting (Off, CL, HL), when the TX/RX link fails, the Phantom will hover for a few seconds, then climb to 20m above the Home point (or maintain altitude if already 20m or more above home point), then fly home, descend and land.

    I have set my Fail Safe in the NAZA Assistant to do this. I think the default is just to land.

    Note that if there is an obstacle in the way, the Phantom WILL hit it.
     
  4. BlackTracer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL USA
    Well the most important part of the question is will it return home and land if it is set that way (which in my case it is), which you say will happen. I thought as much but just wanted to verify with the experts.
     
  5. skyhighdiver

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    South Dakota
    The answer is yes no matter your switch position when control is lost it will either go to 66ft or stay if already higher
    and fly to your home position and land as long as that is your setting in assistant if you have just land then that is what it will do

    IF YOU DONT TRUST ME go out 40ft from you and up 80 on a low wind day turn to atti and shut controller off
    and watch then turn controller back on flip s1 switch to gps and take back over when you want or let it land
     
  6. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    Ah excellent i confused turning of the controller with loss of gps signal
     
  7. kgarrison

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    The exception to this is if you powered up and took off in ATTI mode and didn't wait for GPS Home Lock. If it doesn't know where home is, you better be able to run really fast.