Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Pro Remote Controller Flashing LED - Advice?

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by DrJoe, Dec 24, 2015.

  1. DrJoe

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    96
    Ok, this is frustrating.
    Spent two days reading new manual and watching videos prior to unboxing and had a perplexing issue already.
    When I connected the remote (powered down) to the charger (only the remote, no P3P battery connected), and after firmly pushing the connector in, the controller started flashing / blinking one white LED only.

    Every video I have read indicates that it should blink rapidly and progressively, lighting LED's from left to right. Mine is only blinking the first LED, and its been 20 minutes. Is this thing charging?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,117
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    That's normal if the battery is less than 25% charged. Once it's reaches 25%, the second light should start blinking. Etc.
     
    DrJoe likes this.
  3. DrJoe

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    96
    Thanks MSinger!

    Answer: Yes, its charging. - After the first 30 minutes or so, while I was posting this question, the controller started blinking the second LED in progression. I expect the third and fourth to blink soon.

    Key for below "diagram": X - blinking O - unlit.

    When first plugged in out of the box it looked like this:
    X O O O (first LED blinking rapidly)

    Now it looks like this:
    X X O O (first and second LED lights in succession and repeats).

    Weird that the manual does not describe the LED charging pattern and gave me my first "uh-oh". Hope this helps another 1st time P3P owner.
     
  4. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Soon is relative....it takes awhile to change the controller
    Cheers
     
    moto_jw and DrJoe like this.
  5. kidrocking79

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Definitely helped me since I was perplexed when I just unboxed my P3P. I had a P3S and to charge the remote, I used the micro USB cable connected to my computer and remote. When I did this, nothing happened with the remote of the P3P. Read up a bit and found out it was that circle connector at the base of the new remote. I then plugged it in and had a blinking white light for a while.. did some googling and found your post !! Thank you !