Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Pro Camera help?

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by BerT6801, Jan 11, 2016.

  1. BerT6801

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I finally had my first real crash with my p3 Pro. And it was a doozy. Busted gimbal arms. Ripped ribbon cable. Drone still flys perfect regardless. So I bought the replacement ribbon and gimbal arm kit. Mid repair I try to connect JUST the ribbon cable from my camera lens to the gimbal board. Power it up.. Nothing but black from display. No picture. Is this a bad sign?,,,, Or does all the gimbal motors have to be hooked up to get it all cooperating. I still need one of the gimbal pieces for full rebuild but I find myself wondering if I should just stop and buy a whole new camera, which is stupid expensive. I have seen phantom 3 standard new for the price of just the camera/gimbal of the pro version. What would be my next troubleshooting step to see if the gimbal board is working. no obvious damage was done to the board.
     
  2. Sinisalo

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    326
    Post a picture of your gimbal board. Maybe someone here can help if there is a not so obvious problem with the board.
     
  3. Sinisalo

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    326
    Maybe once you do a gimbal calibration after you finish the install it will work. how much is the other piece $30?
     
  4. BerT6801

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok. Here is some pics. I bought 3d printed arm replacements. But I'm still lacking one piece that was not included. Board looks fine. But if I hook it up with ribbon cable without the motors I figure I would at least get video. Get black screen. But the app acts like it the camera is there. Focus works and such.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. BerT6801

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. Sinisalo

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    326
    Maybe since the gimbal isn't initializing, it isn't sending video. Or maybe the video transmitter inside the gimbal is broken
     
  7. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    did you use the original DJI flex cable? if not most likely the video wont be transmitted because the cable doesn't "register" with the bird