Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Preloading map in DJI Pilot app?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by RuneW, May 15, 2015.

  1. RuneW

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    My tablet does not have a cell phone functionality. To have a "data service" I usually turn on the "share network" function on my cell phone and hook up the tablet wia WiFi and thus get access to the internet.

    Now, as I've understood it it's recommended to turn off WiFi on on the tablet because it can interfer with the 2.4GHz used by Lightbridge.

    So my question is this: Is it possible to preload the map data for, say, a radius of 10 km i each direction from the take off position in the DJI Pilot app?
     
  2. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    You can do it at home on wifi too but I notice it will forget the maps after a while especially if you reboot rather than sleep the tablet.
    In practice the wifi being turned on doesn't seem to make any difference, but you won't need it anyway.
     
    RuneW likes this.
  3. RuneW

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks for the info :)

    But I still need WiFi if I do not cache the maps, won't I?

    And how do I cache the maps, BTW?
     
  4. clkilljoy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    36
    "Google Maps" will let you save a cached map for 30 days. This works for me.
     
  5. RuneW

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks.

    So will cacheing Google maps work for iOS also? Do I have to install an google maps app? I am an Android guy myself (and know little about iOS), but I'm considering using an iPad Mini for fpv purposes.
     
  6. clkilljoy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    36
    I use the Nvidia Shield, Android of course. Google Maps was pre-installed.
     
  7. dmcgrew

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    65
    iOS app uses Apple maps. To cache it just go into the pilot app and pan around the map in the area you will be flying in. It will save all of the map images in the cache. Make sure you zoom in if you want higher detail too.
     
    RuneW likes this.
  8. RuneW

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    OK, thanks guys! I'll just mess around in the DJI Pilot app map preflight then.

    Maybe even I'll make it a part of the preflight check list and then turn if WiFi before I actually start to fly.
     
  9. candubob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    21
    If you concern about interference try using BT or 5.4 Ghz band
     
    RuneW likes this.
  10. RuneW

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    8
    That is a great tip! I'll check of my tablet / cell-phone combo supports 5.4GHz WiFi.