Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Power Phantom tx from Black Pearl monitor

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by Cessna, May 3, 2014.

  1. Cessna

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Omaha NE
    Do you think it would be worth while to power the Phantom tx from the output power connector from a Black Pearl monitor? My thoughts were that the monitor displays the battery level where you really never know for sure about the amount of power left in the batteries in the transmitter.

    It would require a 6 volt switcher power supply to be added to the transmitter to reduce the 12v output from the Black Pearl monitor. The power requirement of the transmitter seems low enough where I wouldn't think it would drain the Black Pearl battery that quickly. I would think you would be able to get a few flights before needing to recharge the battery.
     
  2. Bencio

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    the tx will start beeping if the batteries are almost out, so you only have to keep 4 fresh batteries in your phantom bag and change them when you hear the beeps...
     
  3. thongbong

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    11
    already did it. Used a downstep voltage regulator, I can fly maybe 3-4 times before recharging the BP. Ran the output wire from the Voltage out of the BP and have it hardwired directly into the Phantom Tx. Works like a charm and I don't have to carry around spare batteries!
     
  4. MJB

    MJB

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to figure out the best way to power the AVL58 receiver. I'm no electrician or whatever, so I don't know. What is the problem with powering the receiver with the DC out from the Black Pearl monitor?

    Is it too much power? What will happen?

    And how is everyone powering it if they don't do it this way? I seem to be the only one who doesn't know how we are supposed to power these things. The transmitter is being powered by the Phantom through the Hub as far as I know.
     
  5. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    This is the reason I did a simple voltage display mod on my controller:
    viewtopic.php?f=4&t=14110