power management switching to manual mode/rth in manual mode

Reaction score
Hi all

I maidened my p2v yesterday in nazam mode (I'm an experienced RC pilot and would rather have the atti and manual modes available should any signs of a flyaway occur in GPS mode)- mostly flew in GPS and atti mode and it flew very nicely, behaving itself- I set position 3 on the s1 switch to manual instead of RTH through the assistant software (and enabled IOC options to S2 though not yet tried IOC)- when I switched to manual mode in flight it lost power, dropped and crash landed- fortunately this happened only 2 feet above the ground and didn't do any damage- however I would like to figure out what happened so this doesn't happen again , particularly if at altitude- do I need to configure something extra in the assistant to ensure manual mode responds correctly- if I remember correctly, the left (throttle) stick was in the middle position when I switched s1 to the bottom position, so I would think that (50%) would be enough power though not sure if I needed to add more or full throttle if changing to manual mode in flight..? 'Pull_up' on this forum said- 'In manual mode 50% may not be enough to maintain lift, or it may be too much...' Anyone have any experience in effectively switching from gps or atti modes to manual mode mid flight and how to manage the throttle or any settings through the assistant software to make the switch work well?

Regarding Return To Home (RTH) if in manual mode (by switching off the transmitter or losing RC signal)- will it still rth if RC control is lost in manual mode? - if so and in manual mode and it starts returning to home, if I want to regain control and the s1 switch is already down will switching s1 up to the top and back down again to regain control equally? If i manual mode and rc link is lost and it doesn't RTH does it autoland only instead?

PS- here’s a quick video I put together (only 4 mins) of my maiden flight- above the hills here in LA: