Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

POTUS motorcade drone flyover

Discussion in 'News' started by Nemo, Dec 29, 2015.

1. Nemo

Well folks I'm just watching the morning news and another one of our genius drone pilots flew his quad over President Obamas motorcade. Our hobby keeps getting more publicity...ugh.

2. Nemo

Also, I'm sure he had a nice long chat with the Secret Service...lol

3. Formstone

According to this article; Drone Buzzes Obama's Motorcade in Hawaii the operator did no know the motorcade was in the area but as per another thread, the entire main island is under a TFR. Obviously he did no get the memo and he was let go when a guy with a flying camera proved to be no threat.

...and the motorcade was returning from the golf course.

4. baghdad_soldier

I'm brand new to this hobby, but is there any app or newsletter that would provide alerts from the FAA or any other governing body about what areas you can and can't fly in?

5. Jaime Ray Vaughn

The short radio news spot I just heard said the Secret Service brought down the drone, and caught up to the owner, but he was not arrested.

6. MapMaker53

Just when spontaneous combustion hover boards were starting to get more bad press than drones. Oh well..

BigAl07 and Couchie like this.
  7. Couchie

The 'Official' source of all TFR info can be found at http://tfr.faa.gov/tfr2/. You can also sign up to be emailed when there is a new TFR posted for your area. I have mine sent to both my email and my phone via SMS. I do this more for the flying airplanes then for the UASs, but works the same!

BigAl07 likes this.
  8. SanCap

"The 'Official' source of all TFR info can be found at http://tfr.faa.gov/tfr2/. You can also sign up to be emailed when there is a new TFR posted for your area. I have mine sent to both my email and my phone via SMS. I do this more for the flying airplanes then for the UASs, but works the same!"

Error 404 for your link.

9. N017RW