Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. Eric Dad

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi guys, I MAY HAVE found a fix (cross fingers and touch wood) for the tilted horizon issue with P4.

    Did you notice that there is another calibration option on DJI Assistant software on PC/MAC?

    I don't know if that relates in any way to the horizontal tilt issue we're experiencing but after performing it, my issue with horizontal level is not there anymore...for now anyway.

    Once again, I can't say that this is the fix for this issue. All I'm saying is that I've used this and the issue was gone from that point on until now.

    I guess at the very least it won't hurt to try?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Jussaguy likes this.
  2. Jussaguy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    385
    Absolutely agree that not everyone is taking care of the tools at their disposal to make sure they have their desired calibrations and that everything is veritably steady, but also being able to more fine tune the gain and exp settings. These settings will literally set the feel of the craft for you.
     
  3. PROJEFFREY11

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    25
    What additional calibration option are you referring to ?
     
  4. Fanti

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    42
    Yes, which calibration please ?
     
  5. Stealthmatt

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    141
    The calibration in the software is for the front facing obstacle avoidance system, it displays a pattern on the screen and lines up with the pattern.
     
  6. PROJEFFREY11

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    25
    That's the front and bottom camera sensor, that honestly should have nothing to do with the Horizon alignment on the camera but it's definitely worth a shot. Personally I've calibrated every sensor on the bird including that one on the DJI assistant but truthfully I haven't had any serious problems with my P4 from day one.
     
    #6 PROJEFFREY11, Apr 12, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2016
    Sim597 likes this.
  7. Sim597

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    266
    That's a great little calibration tool, I found it the other day after upgrading the firmware, I too wondered how many ppl even knew about this newer option, I guess it's only new because of the P4. I then came across it again in the manual on the GO app.
     
  8. scatmanr1

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    29
    If you hold the button on the bottom of the remote while flying and scroll the camera wheel on the right side you can correct it in flight also. It's the number 2 button on the right under side of the remote I think


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Jussaguy likes this.
  9. Sim597

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    266
    What? Is this true? Ok like on mine I think that's how I move camera all the way level forward or down, stock setup I believe, if this is true, it would be really nice, I have my doubts. This is the only issue I've had with my phantom 4, or 3P
    I've only had mine a month, and a month for the P3 and have over 50miles covered and 15.5hrs. 99.5 percent of those have been flawless, but this issue pops up and seems to be new to this bird, I don't remember it on the P3 and when this one was new. I'm going to check that, and if your right, or it helps that's HUGE, because I think more ppl have this but don't notice it.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. Jussaguy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    385
    Didn't know that. Thanks. Sort of a short cut to that +- gimbal setting. Cool.
     
    wingtip85 likes this.
  11. Sim597

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    266
    Did you get a chance to try it out? I have not yet, so it's not really a recal, it's a shortcut to the adjustment stage? Still, that's nice to know, of course when it's off and adjusted, it'll be off as soon a we yaw again.
     
  12. adambfarmer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Fort Irwin, CA
    I haven't had an issue with my gimbal yet, knock on wood, but I've seen others that have. They need to incorporate a tool the Osmo has on the P4s.
    [​IMG]
    You can adjust the level of the gimbal on the Osmo with the Calibrate Horizon option. Don't know why this wouldn't work on the Phantoms.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    #12 adambfarmer, May 2, 2016
    Last edited: May 2, 2016
  13. Jussaguy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    385
    It can and does, but people just want a straight gimbal out of the box. It's not completely unreasoable to expect a $1400 camera (granted with a flying machine) to work perfect out of the box.

    I know a lot of people are saying it's part of the territory. As someone that has bought A LOT of cameras, no, no it's not. That said, hasn't the gimbal roll always been there?

    Just picked up an iPad Pro 9.7. Interested in seeing how it works.
     
  14. adambfarmer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Fort Irwin, CA
    I agree, you shouldn't have too adjust it. But if they would add this small feature from the Osmo it would make things easier. The Osmo is way to easy. In the pic above, all you have to do is hit the plus or minus and it rolls the horizon left or right in small increments. Super fast and easy. You can fix it on the fly.
    Enjoy the Pro. I fly on the air2 which I believe is the same size. I love it. My wife just got the Pro 12.9 and I just got an adapter to mount that monster on my RC. Can't wait to use it.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. thunderbird

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    I did mine on the assistant tool and notice my gimbal horizon is much better
     
  16. GadgetGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,446
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Yes, but the binding of the gimbal ribbon cable, causing a mild clicking noise when manually rolling the camera up and down with the power off, can sometimes prevent the adjustment from sticking. You adjust it, and it reverts right back, when you release the button! Happened to me just the other day!
     
  17. GadgetGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,446
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Yes, but it won't show you the numerical degrees of adjustment, and the green crosshairs will not show up until you also rotate the right scroll wheel while pressing and holding the right button on the bottom. It does help on the fly, while ruining the continuous video during the adjustment, assuming it sticks. On mine it just kept popping back to the original setting!
     
  18. Redevil75

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Porvoo, Finland
    DJI Go App 2.8.0 Has gimbal roll in it. If you haven't already found it =)

    IMG_0010.jpg
     
    GadgetGuy likes this.
  19. Redevil75

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Porvoo, Finland
    Haven't need it yet though
     
  20. GadgetGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,446
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    The Adjust Gimbal Roll setting with degrees is already there on both the P4 and the P3 in DJI GO. See below. It's been there at least since last fall in the DJI GO app. This is from 2.72 on iOS.
    image.png
    image.png
     
    Redevil75 likes this.