Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Poor range of Fat Shark

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Help' started by Khan, May 24, 2016.

  1. Khan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Poland
    Hi everybody,

    I use ImmersionRC 600mW, iOSD Mini, Black Pearl 7. Is it normal that viewing range is about 100-150m? After that I lose video signal (depending on Phantom position). Changing channel didn't help. Also changing antennas. Any advices? Thanks in advance :)
     
  2. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    In line-of-site situation you should have no problem getting 2 miles out of that set up depending on which antennas you have. Is your 600 placed underneath the aircraft and not inside the aircraft? Which antennas are you using both on the 600 and on the Black Pearl
     
  3. Khan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Poland
    My 600 is placed underneath the aircraft. I attached one FatShark antenna to transmitter and on the receiver I have one stock and one FatShark antena.
     
  4. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
  5. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    In nice clear path, but flying over businesses and streets, I've gotten clear FPV for 4.4 miles with this set up
     
  6. Khan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Poland
    I use the same antenas... Could you describe precisely how you attach these Fat Shark antenas? One on the transmitter and one on Black Pearl receiver?
     
  7. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
  8. Khan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Poland
  9. fly-catchers

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Kent England
    Is this setup on a P2? I am finding that I tend to lose signal to the craft before I lose the FPV video. This is at about 1KM over open fields LOS of the craft. Any ideas?
     
  10. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    The stock 2.4 controller and antennas on the P2 have a pretty incredible range ,at least 2 miles! Seems like you always lose the 5.8 feed first. Try that Ib crazy super canon you'll never lose control feed
     
  11. Pilot-Werx

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have been recently flying with the IBcrazy blue beam ultras and the Air X2 with great results. Make sure, and I know it sounds obvious, that your monitor is in diversity and matches the TX frequency.
     
  12. P2Fitz

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0


    I am having the same issue....Attached is a clip of the issues.....


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. Pilot-Werx

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    7
    Try removing on of the spironets and putting the whip back on. To me, it looks like you are not on the same band/ch as the TX.

    Even if you are not in diversity mode, at that distance you should be getting a clear image.
     
  14. Khan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Poland
    This is EXACTLY the same problem I have... I'll try to check all the cables and connections inside...
     
  15. P2Fitz

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am going to put one RHCP and one Linear old skill rubber ducky on and see how that goes...


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  16. P2Fitz

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any resolve?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  17. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    My issue is a little different and I probably know the answer, I had it set up where I can go 4.4 miles with decent reception and then I change things around trying to make things lighter and put all the gear, Tx, cables etc. on the inside of the shell now it only goes 2500 feet and it starts getting static . But I think I know that I need to remove that TX away from the electronics on the inside
     
  18. P2Fitz

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine is all external and before I even take off has reception issues....Getting a little frustrated...


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  19. Khan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Poland
    My problem solved itself - after changing position of antenna too close to compass my drone flew away. Can't find it :-(