Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Polar Pro LED Light kit Interference?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Jcarlson1701, Mar 11, 2016.

  1. Jcarlson1701

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    13
    Hello all,

    I know this subject has been touched on before but I wanted to get a consensus from everyone that has the Polar Pro LED Light kit...

    DJI Phantom 3 LED Light Kit

    Has anyone had any issues with GPS reception with the battery being mounted to the top of the Phantom (P3A in my case) or the lights themselves being mounted on the legs/antennas?

    It just seems to be an odd placement decision on Polar Pro's part...

    I'm really considering purchasing the kit but not at the expense of my P3A's safety.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. LamboH

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    No interference
     

    Attached Files:

  3. ChaneRZ

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    GSW, 49ers, SF Giants
    No interference on mine. Get it!
     
  4. anthgarc

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nada here
     
  5. Pete Leare

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Windham NH
    Probably 20 flights so far and no interference.
     
  6. exit 4

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey
    16 satellites and not a sign of interference. Go for it.
     
  7. Jcarlson1701

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    13
    Thanks for the suggestions everyone! I'll keep it on my "future purchase" list.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. Farmer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Northland, New Zealand
    Yes.I have experienced issues.

    I flew mine with the LED kit turned off.
    Only had 7 satellites and App was flipping between GPS green and NON GPS AMBER.
    Took off kit and flew again and had 14 satellites and no problems.
    I did have the unit orientated with the micro-usb port at back.
     
  9. Jcarlson1701

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    13

    Interesting. Thanks for letting me know. I haven't purchased them yet.
     
  10. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    405
    Was this repeatable all the time, or was it a single incident? I have not noticed that behavior.
     
  11. CafeRacer

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    57
    I had the same satellite issue, when turned on I went from 11 sats to 6. Sometimes it doesn't interfere, unfortunately , at least for mine, sometimes it does.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. Msvet

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have never had a problem when flying with the Polar Pro light kit. Great light kit.
    Saves your battery and looks great.
     
  13. exit 4

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey
    Flown at least 10 night runs. Never an issue with sats. Odd how some people are having issues and some aren't. Wonder why? I admit I fly the same place every time. Odd?
     
  14. Farmer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Northland, New Zealand
    It was one particular event.i flew three times ;with kit, without kit and with kit again.It was where I fly regularly, same route.
    Weather conditions and time have prevented further tests.
     
    #14 Farmer, Mar 21, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2016
  15. Farmer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Northland, New Zealand
    What was that sat issue with the P2? Did I read on here that there was a simple mod to increase sat number by installing insulation between sat receiver and circuits?
    Maybe not all P3 s are created equal due to assembley issues.
     
  16. Farmer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Northland, New Zealand
    I like the lights, but although I only fly over my farm, I don't think its going to be helpful to be more visable, by people or my herds.
     
  17. Rock Shelter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    19
    I had the misgivings. So I tried 3 sets of flights 1 battery with, 1 without. Same conditions every time. While I lost or gained a satellite or two during the flights, there was now apparent connection with the lights. just what I assumed flyover timing. That put my mind at ease. I use a tom tom gps in the car and there are ton of crap between it and clear sky. still seems to work.
     
  18. Farmer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Northland, New Zealand
    Just had another fly with and without.
    Same place - this time clear skies.
    7 to 11 sats with LED kit.
    then took it off and bang 17 sats.
    Then put it back on and it was flipping between gps and none gps whilst fitting the kit.