Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

poi needs los with tx?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by chapsrlz, Sep 7, 2015.

  1. chapsrlz

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    cdmx
    hi guys, im in the middle of the upgrade to 1.04 and have a doubt about point of interest.

    im thinking about doing a poi around a building, do i need to have line of sight between the p3 and the tx all the time, or does point of interest saves the data/coordinates and you may go behind any object (trees, buildings, etc.)

    thanks!
     
  2. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,231
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    You should never do anything where you can keep sight of your aircraft.
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,051
    Likes Received:
    5,609
    Location:
    US
    If you attempt to fly around the back side of a building, your remote controller signal will be lost and your Phantom will return home.
     
  4. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,664
    Likes Received:
    5,709
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I agree Fly :)
     
  5. Jeff48920

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    502
    Location:
    Pomona, IL
    And if you haven't set the altitude for RTH high enough it will attempt to come back home directly through the building resulting in the loss of the phantom and probably a few windows.
     
  6. Dadcat

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Portland Area, Oregon
    Are you guys sure about this? Is the POI maneuver calculation going on in the app or in the Phantom? With the P2 Vision+ ground station, you could shut off the RC and it would continue the mission. Once the mission was uploaded it was on its own. That was a theoretical advantage of GS. You could have it go behind something that blocked the signal and it would keep going (In theory, I didn't try it).

    I know it's not the same thing.
     
  7. Jeff48920

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    502
    Location:
    Pomona, IL
    Exactly, because you have to fly the mission first you have to be able to control every section of that first flight.
    Now if you were to say walk around the building while setting up the flight and stay in contact with the Phantom, the flight record could probably be made. I would think the UAV would then be autonomous for the instant replay.
     
  8. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,972
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Are you assuming the POI program is not autonomous to completion, or have you actually tested this with the new app?
     
  9. Dadcat

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Portland Area, Oregon
    I completely agree with you, Jeff. But the question was about POI, not waypoints. Just wondered whether that was "autonomous".
     
  10. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Pants on fire....
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  11. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Try and validate.. Do small POI (something low) and turn off controller..
     
  12. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,664
    Likes Received:
    5,709
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    You see what I did !
     
    rrmccabe likes this.
  13. chapsrlz

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    cdmx
    today i was testing poi (which works like a charm, but never lost los) and then i tested waypoints and found this:
    2015-09-08 17.12.00.png

    so i was wondering if in poi the mission will continue even if the rc signal is lost :s