Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

POI movie:)

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by DJJI, Sep 7, 2015.

  1. DJJI

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    16
  2. Bocephus-73

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    63
    Tis very nice --- so do you simply tap the object on the FPV screen and it starts the POI function at current height --- or do you need to go to map view and tap to create an icon so it knows GPS location to create the POI circle?

    Please explain how it works! :eek:
     
  3. DJJI

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    16
    You simply hover over the point you want. Press a buttom on the dji app fly as far as you want and the height that you want away from it and simply press go. Then it starts to fly the circle. The app also calculates the time the phantom will use to get around the object after what radius and speed you choose. The speed can be selected in the app. It`s very simple.
     
  4. Stan_in_KS

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Wichita, Kansas
    I tried a few POI tests, and the flying was great. I forgot to push record video on a couple, so if you set up a POI, don't forget to push record when you want to start recording. The P3 will go around and around as long as you want. I set the speed of rotation higher, at about 15mph, and we had a strong wind blowing, so on some "upwind" segments the left landing gear creeps into the shot. Slower would eliminate this. Sorry for the boring example, but the Eiffel Tower was too far to drive from Kansas! And I think drones are banned in Paris.

     
  5. Waxings

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    13
    Will this feature still work if the phantom loses line of sight for part of the path?
     
  6. GadgetGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,444
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Great question, if you mean loss of transmitter signal! Otherwise, as long as you have transmitter signal, you should be good to go regardless of LOS. The documentation states all the new features rely upon strong GPS signals, which are independent of the transmitter signal, so it would theoretically be possible, if the GPS locations and instructions are stored on the aircraft, after being set within the app. However, I strongly suspect the loss of signal RTH function would override the instructions, cancelling the mission. So, if you lost signal for 3 seconds upon orbiting behind your subject, it would start RTH.:cool:
     
  7. TLM

    TLM

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    How do you set the speed I have figured out the rest?
     
  8. phuocsandiego

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Interesting. I can't wait to test this new feature on my P3P. Thanks for doing these early tests for us! If anyone has experience with LOS (and perhaps even losing the RC signal for a few seconds), please let us know what the quad's behavior is like.
     
  9. StumbleBee

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    147
    Location:
    Nashua, NH USA
    On the POI pop-up there's a sliding switch near the bottom. Slide to the mph you want.
     
  10. StumbleBee

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    147
    Location:
    Nashua, NH USA
    Nice job. Two comments. Your color seems a little washed out, you may want to adjust your saturation. When the second video started I was "WTH, an airport control tower?!"
     
  11. Stan_in_KS

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Wichita, Kansas
    The Line Of Sight image (LOS) has nothing to do with the POI flight path success. The P3 autopilot computer is flying a perfect circle at the exact radius, altitude and speed you set, and the camera keeps panning and stays pointed at the POI you set first. If the POI gets visually blocked for a while, the P3 will just keep circling until you take control and stop it.

    I am pretty sure a loss of signal to the controller would initiate a RTH automatically, but I'll give it a try next flight.

    Waypoint feature is a lot less useful than the last version on the P2, which was pretty impressive. Maybe a new pre-programmed Waypoint feature is planned, it should be pretty easy. Then need to include altitude changes, speed changes and camera angle 0 degrees to 359 degrees from 12 course line. They should also allow you to specify the tilt down angle on the camera for each leg. -90 degrees to plus 30 degrees. They may want to include a pause, rotate at a selectable rate, with camera tilt angle, then continue again. Ideal for farmers or ranchers to inspect their property. Also ideal for police search or investigate operations.
     
    #11 Stan_in_KS, Sep 7, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2015
  12. TLM

    TLM

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    the sliding switch will not respond for me. Is there another way I have uninstalled and reinstalled everything but the slide bar works???
     
  13. StumbleBee

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    147
    Location:
    Nashua, NH USA
    Hmmm. I'm at a loss as to why that feature isn't operable. Are you saying that all the other POI controls are working? What happens if you just accept the default distance and go?
     
  14. TLM

    TLM

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    It lets me set every thing but stays at 0mph so it just sits there does not circle.
     
  15. TLM

    TLM

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    Figured it out there is a minimum distance you have to go out I was trying at 10 feet. Anyway you can lower the minimum distances for close up shots?
     
  16. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,507
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    You should also try adjusting the Phantom while in this mode. You and increase and decrease the radius while flying and also change the angle of the camera manually.
     
  17. wotblake

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    44
    Low altitude POI at dusk...girlfriend joined me for my test flight.

     
    Stan_in_KS likes this.
  18. Sky King

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    66
    Lighthouse POI

     
  19. GadgetGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,444
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    I believe the minimum distance is 5 meters (for safety).
     
  20. sdharris

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    South West, England
    I like the tranquility of this with that soothing music even though we know you were surrounded by the noise of a thousand bees swarming with that thing flying around in circles.
     
    Stan_in_KS likes this.