PMU V2 vs Upgrade Kit for Phantom V1.1.1

Reaction score
So I've spent literally hours searching various forums and discussion boards for a clear and simple answer to this question. I've even emailed DJI, Dronefly, B&H Photo and others. If anyone with experience could break it down in simple terms that would be phenomenal.

Is it better to get the Upgrade Kit or PMU V2 to add the Zenmuse H3-2D to my Phantom V1.1.1?

I keep reading answers like, either one or "yes". Haha, just want to know what's recommended and maybe why. They cost the same so that's not really a factor.

Sorry for being such a total noob, but I'm having fun learning ;)

Do you want an iOsd mini? Or any other peripherals like BTU, Datalink, or lightbridge?

Do you wince at soldering and removing the Naza?

Do you know/care what your phantom weighs?

Most people would benefit more from the upgrade board, but it's a bit more work.

ElGuano said:
Do you want an iOsd mini? Or any other peripherals like BTU, Datalink, or lightbridge?

Most people would benefit more from the upgrade board, but it's a bit more work.

Tailored feedback. I love it!

Yes I would like to have the ability to expand my accessories in the future.

I get sick to my stomach when I think about soldering, removing the Naza, or even taking the top of my Phantom shell off. (would likely pay somebody to do it for me)

I care how much it weighs as it relates to battery life. Other than that not really.

Thanks a billion for any input you have based on my responses. I just want to buy whatever it is I need and get it all installed and up in the air ASAP!

BrandenB2 said:
ElGuano said:

Tailored feedback. I love it!

Yes I would like to have the ability to expand my accessories in the future.

I get sick to my stomach when I think about soldering, removing the Naza, or even taking the top of my Phantom shell off. (would likely pay somebody to do it for me)