Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

PLEASE HELP!!!!

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by GLOCKer, May 6, 2014.

  1. GLOCKer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed a Taco 3D Gimbal last night, and I brought my Phantom to work today to test fly it. The gimbal seems to be working just fine stabilizing the camera.

    My phone wont connect to the camera anymore now. I've tried re-binding the WiFi extender with the camera, and it says that its successful, but then almost immediately the WiFi connection drops and the Phantom doesn't show up on my available WiFi options.

    When I reset the WiFi extender, the Phantom shows up as a choice on my WiFi menu, but then the camera icon in the DJI software is a light gray color and I cannot select it.

    I've uninstalled the DJI software from my phone and reinstalled it and tried from scratch, and I get the same result. Please help me figure out what I need to do to fix this!!!

    Thank you!
     
  2. Madwak

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    Maybe your phone is seeing a better WIFI network that it recognises and keeps dropping the phantom connection?
     
  3. SilentAV8R

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Orange County, CA - USA
    I've got the Taco gimbal. I have noticed that it sometimes takes 2 or 3 attempts for the WiFi to connect. I have not had any issues once connected, but it can take several tries. I'm running 3.02 for the Phantom Software and the DJI Vision iPhone app, V. 1.0.37
     
  4. GLOCKer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get a choice of what wifi network to connect to takes of where I am and what wifi sources are around. If I reset the extender, it'll let me connect to it but then the extender won't connect to the camera. If I link the extender to the camera, the extender won't show up as a choice to connect to.
     
  5. SilentAV8R

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Orange County, CA - USA
    I have found that I need to have the transmitter, extender, the Phantom and the camera on before my iPhone will see the Phantom.
     
  6. grochester

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Can you reconnect the original gimbal/camera and see if you can connect to the camera? Do you have an alternative device (phone, tablet) you can load the DJI app to and try connecting with that?
     
  7. GLOCKer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you Grochester; this is exactly what I needed to do to solve my problem. While installing the old hardware onto the Phantom, I realized that the cable going to the camera snaps in with a pretty good click. I DIDN'T HAVE THE VIDEO CABLE INSTALLED ALL THE WAY ON WITH THE NEW HARDWARE!!!!! Everything works great now. ;)
     
  8. NLinbeeld.nl

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    +1 for Grochester.