Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Please Help With Phantom Start Up

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by jaredcollie, Aug 28, 2013.

  1. jaredcollie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I have recently purchased a new Phantom drone and unfortunately I can get it to fly or be recognised when plugged into the the computer with Nazam version 2.16 program. After I assembled the Phantom I installed the driver and the software. It recognises the connection with the green light and MC ON light but when I move the sticks nothing moves on the screen.

    The next problem is when I turn on my receiver and Phantom all I get is really fast yellow lights and nothing else. I'm really new at this and any help would be really appreciated.

    Thanks Jared
     
  2. edunwody

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South East, USA
    Turn Tx on. Make sure left switch is off. Right switch on GPS.
    Plug USB into phantom and computer. Plug battery into Phantom.
    In the order.

    Software should show MC off.

    E


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. jaredcollie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi thanks for that I just did what you said and it says that the MC is OFF. When I move the sticks should I see movements in the channel monitor ect like the Demo video, nothing seems to move on the program as I move the sticks on the controller.

    Thanks for your help
     
  4. edunwody

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South East, USA
    Ok. MC is off. Do you have a flashing light next to the MC off?

    E


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. edunwody

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South East, USA
    Stand by a min


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. jaredcollie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Green light on and a flashing Blue light to the left of the MODE button
     
  7. edunwody

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South East, USA
    Where are you?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. edunwody

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South East, USA
    Go to basic. Aircraft. Choose top second quadrotox

    Go to RC. Choose PPM

    Tell what happens after you go back to View.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. edunwody

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South East, USA
    I'm going to PM you.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. jaredcollie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    From Australia so I'm getting some long distance help here ,

    I have done what you asked and I have movement in the channel monitor
     
  11. Wait!comebak

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Bud, You get it sorted?
    I'm up the Kimberleys, yell out if you still need a hand, but edunwody was giving you some good advice.
     
  12. edunwody

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South East, USA
    We had a marathon PM session that moved to Facebook Message.

    Last I heard was he had LIFT OFF!!

    All is well.

    The only problem is that to get my free beer I have to fly 16 hrs to get there :eek:

    E
     
  13. Wait!comebak

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    G'day E,
    Unfortunately I'm one of the few Aussies that don't drink or Facebook, but well done on getting my country-man flying.
    Was it that Receiver PPM trick or gremlins?
     
  14. edunwody

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South East, USA
    PPM plus just crazy instructions or the lack of from the Chinese. I'm sure there is just something lost in translation.

    E


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  15. adamg

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey there, I'm new here so be gentle. I just received my Phantom, updated the firmware and now it appears that I am having the exact same problem. Can anybody help me with a fix? Coincidentally I am also Australian.
    Cheers in advance.
     
  16. adamg

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you to the user that offered me PM help, unfortunately it appears my profile is too fresh to activate the PM function. In response to that user, so far I have upgraded the firmware, imported the parameters, calibrated the Tx and IMU. Unfortunately, when I power on the MC goes through the start and self-check LED function, then settles on consistent yellow flashing. I am unable to check the Tx parameters within the NAZA software as my Calibration Command Stick values are still during operation of my TX. I have manually checked the transmitter link by accessing the Tx board and linking the devices manually (confirmed via the appropriate LED). I have still yet to calibrate the compass as the MC will not allow this function during the blinking yellow failsafe. The issue seems very similar to the original problem posted in this topic, any ideas?
     
  17. Nazag

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi - a few people, including me have had this problem with new phantoms. Basically, you need to change your settings in the software from ppm to d-bus on the new ones, despite what all the instructions say. I had exact same problem and this fixed it in an instant and DJI (eventually) confirmed this.

    Same for others. Read this post for answers:

    viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2718&start=10

    Hope it helps,
    Nazag