Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Pitch control lever

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by zaphod, Jan 3, 2014.

  1. zaphod

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I received a DJI Phantom 1 for Christmas and I'm currently looking at various options for gimbals. However, I noticed that I don't have the little pitch control lever on the back of the controller. Furious googling and reading of online forums gives me the impression that there should be a stock lever included. Did it just not come with mine? Or do I have a version that doesn't have one? The controller does seem to have mounting holes on the back to add a 3rd party lever. Mostly curious if I'm a) a complete idiot, b) going crazy or c) just in a situation where I need to get my own.
     
  2. phantomflyer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    I think they only put the lever on the Version 1.1.1 Phantom and up, You must have an older DJI! Does your Phantom have two Rx antennas on the unit or one? If you only have one antenna then you have an older version which doesn't have the pitch lever on the controller if you have two then you have a newer version and maybe an older Tx! Either way you should check to see if the place you bought it from offered a newer version on their ad!
     
  3. zaphod

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aha! Curses -- it was a gift from the Mrs., so I will have to check w/ her. Thanks for your help -- glad I'm not crazy!
     
  4. Roadkilt

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    4
    There are good YouTube vids on putting in a small pot switch on the tx instead of the flimsy lever on the back. Many of the ones sold on the web don't fit properly or work.
     
  5. Driffill

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    3
  6. zaphod

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet! Thanks everyone, you guys are rad. I love the idea of the front mounted control knob, but really fear of my ability to pull it off. Is there not an official DJI lever part that I can order to guarantee that it works/fits properly?
     
  7. rickhz

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best of luck with this. I added the Zenmuse and the tilt lever.

    After adding the tilt lever the transmitter would not calibrate the X1 pot so I updated the firmware in the transmitter.

    Now the tilt works, but the transmitter will not transmit more than a few feet and there has been no solution to fix this!!

    My recommendation... If you cannot calibrate the X1 pot normally - DO NOT update the firmware or you too may end up with a brick.
     
  8. rickhz

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also have the Phantom 1.

    My Phantom 1 came with a D-bus DJ6 which would not connect the X1 pot at all until the firmware was updated. The firmware was updated through the DJ6s built in micro USB port.
     
  9. phantomflyer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire
  10. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    Thanks Mr D, did that to mine yesterday (removing DJI rear lever - if anybody's interested)mod works great, then bit the bullet and bought Futaba T8J Black couldn't pass on price $230.
     
  11. LandYachtMedia

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central North Carolina, USA
  12. Driffill

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    3
    The audio taper ones have a different curve to the motion. A linear taper one will travel smoothly along the whole motion of the knob, an audio taper one will be faster at the end points and slower thru the middle (or vies versa).
     
  13. LandYachtMedia

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central North Carolina, USA
    They are readily available. That isn't the best choice for a control system though. The response of an audio taper pot is approximately logarithmic. That will make it very sensitive at one end and unusually slow on the other. I would recommend using a linear pot for any control work.
     
  14. LandYachtMedia

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central North Carolina, USA
    Yea, I didn't read the comments. Many times they are more ridiculous than even facebook comments. ;)