Pilots license for commercial use

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I am a licensed private pilot who was rather enjoying section 333 and the monopoly the FAA was providing me. I want to start a drone videography business in the next 1-2 years.

What is the current legislation climate looking like, is the FAA likely going to drop the pilots license for the aeronautical written test?

Thanks guys.

There will eventually be a certificate for commercial UAV I would suspect. I'm also a PPSEL and I'm registered as a UAV pilot now too. I'm glad to follow suggestions and avoid the fines.

Sent from my PT beating heart

Do you think the barriers to entry will remain high? They are making it sound rather easy to obtain the cert.

Ah, who can see into the dark heart of the FAA? If ** I ** were in charge of the FAA (what a nightmare job) I would make the presumptive UAV pilot go through ground and navigational school and test them on flight regs. That's going to be the big thing - can you think and act like EVERYONE ELSE IN THE AIRSPACE. Actually piloting not so much (although you'd have to do something, I suppose).

The challenge is going to be to get the UAV driver to understand the limitations on their craft, the rules of road and how to at least not act like a Compleat Idiot in the airspace. You're going to have to swat down the ever recurrent idea here that "I can do whatever the hell I'm thinking to do because I'm AMERICAN*" really hard. You have to obey the rules.