Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Pilot app

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Bill7259, Jun 27, 2015.

  1. Bill7259

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    I updated the pilot app and now I guess I must update RC, Aircraft and Camera. Is this a common problem?
     
  2. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Always a good idea.
     
  3. ScottyT

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Generally it would be. But there are a few issues with the later firmware, either real or imagined....so if it flies OK at the moment, why introduce risk?
    I'd be ignoring the warnings and just keep abreast of what issues are being addressed and possibly introduced with the later firmware, with a view to updating at a later date once things settle down.
     
  4. Bill7259

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    The problem is that the camera no longer works (just hangs in the down position and no video). There is no indication of any of the data ie. Battery level, height, distance, speed etc. I'm not comfortable flying it and not particularly interested in losing it.
     
  5. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    1,386
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    If you have not, remove the firmware from the SD card.
     
  6. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Make sure the cable from the tablet to the controller is good-- there have been numerous reports on the forum of bad cables.
     
  7. Bill7259

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4
    I didn't think of that. I have already updated everything and going out tofly

    Went ahead and updated to 1.2.6. Cured my problems and it flies well. The only issue is: gimbal motor overload. Seems to be a problem with others also. I flew about an hour and no other problems.