Picture quality (with 100% crop exemple)

Reaction score
Im new to drones and just bought my phantom 3 Adv 2 weeks ago. Im pretty pleased with the video quality, especially when I turn down the in-camera picture processing and have that done in Final Cut Pro instead.

But when it comes to still images I'm disappointed with the outcome. I know its not a flying DSLR, but the picture lacks a lot of details. Most of the picture is just blurry. I have attached a link to a JPG which is straight out of the camera (I just did a 100% crop in PS, center of picture); ISO 100, 1/200, LOG) Yeah I know that the picture is a bit underexposed, but I wanted to keep the ISO low and shutter speed fast enough.

Is this what you other guys also get from the camera when it comes to still pictures?

Dropbox - 100% crop.jpg

100% crop.jpg

Initially I was also disappointed with P3P, however I've learnt that to get the best out of the files you do need to be quite proficient in your post-processing. I'm wondering if shooting in LOG has given this a murky, soft look? I didn't even realise you could shoot stills in LOG, I thought that was just for video.
This is a gallery of images, mostly P3P, that I have shot over the last few months....
As The Crow Flies - atphoto

You can do a lot in post but at the end of the day it is a small sensor and a low cost lens. I tend not to look at 100% nowadays and even the most striking of pictures including the ones above which are awesome are not that pretty at 100%.

One thing I would suggest is shoot in both JPG and DNG for a while and look at the output from the JPG to get an idea of what DJI get out of that camera and then better it with the DNG in post.

Reactions: villep