Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

picture lag

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Phantom19, Apr 26, 2015.

  1. Phantom19

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    6
    Using both the DJI App and the Kahn app for Android I am getting a momentary freezing of the screen for a few seconds on my Samsung tablet. Is it a problem with the app software or should I refresh the firmware on the Phantom? If it is the firmware that needs refreshing could anybody explain the process for doing it. I can find only upgrading on the net.
     
  2. Larry L

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, Texas
    Do not fully understand your question. Is it when you take a photo the screen looks like a shutter that closes & goes blank for a few moments? If so that is normal as the card is being written to. The FPV is blank. as the camera is busy. If you take a jpeg, it will be momentarily. If you take a raw image, it will be blank for up to 6-7 seconds. Or is it another problem?
     
  3. Phantom19

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    6
    Sorry badly phrased. The problem which has only just happened is that when viewing the picture from the quadcopter on my tablet it keeps freezing. Normally the picture has been very smooth giving a real time view form the Phantom. Now it will freeze only picking up some seconds later which makes positioning quite difficult. I was wondering whether I needed to refresh the software or the Vision App.
     
  4. Larry L

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, Texas
    Aaah, I understand. Mine is smooth but recently I was flying out about 1500' & was getting some jerkeyness to the FPV. It did not go out but was kinda freezing for a few frames or so. I just attributed it to being so far out with video feed going. What do you have your preview set to? From what I have read, If it is set too high, you will get some of what you are describing.
     
    #4 Larry L, Apr 26, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2015
  5. Phantom19

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    6
    Right I have just downloaded the latest version. I will set preview lower and try that.