Photos Straight "Out of the Box" - how would you correct?

Reaction score
Ok, so I gleefully received my P4P two days ago and was excited to see the image quality of the new camera and sensor. I'm still learning the nuances of photography and know there will be a steep learning curve with the P4P camera to get excellent shots.

I did, however, expect that the automatic settings out of the box would be better than they were. Without adjusting any of the shutter speeds, apertures or exposure, the auto settings took the attached photo...bleh.:neutral:

The sky is overexposed. The colors are drab. Very little depth...

I know I have to learn proper settings, but I would have thought the auto settings would give me a better photo. That said, can anyone suggest how I should have set the camera settings in order to get a better result?

Thanks for your advice!

Attachments

• ggg.jpg
    ggg.jpg
    820.9 KB · Views: 555
I use a P4. I have the over exposure setting turned on. I make small adjustments to the ev while I'm taking pics to get a brighter or darker picture. I shoot everything in DNG (raw) not JPEG and edit in Adobe Lightroom.

You can check some of my pics here, https://www.instagram.com/keithkman

The photo you took doesn't look bad at all for auto settings. Play around with different settings and figure out what you like best. ;)

It actually looks nice and sharp!

Do not expect a lot from auto!
Search, and learn photography, there is a lot but basics are simple.
P4P is powerful machine/camera.
Use Lightroom, it is very simple for basics and very powerful tool for photo editing, specially if you shoot raw (always shoot raw if you want good results, it gives you a lot space to play with image).

Here is a quick graded image you uploaded. My friend tried how it will grade in Resolve.

If you want, make some .dng - raw images and upload them to try even better grading :)

Attachments

• 15369704_10210322559357053_937906666_o.jpg