Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Photoes and videos at the same time?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by DJJI, Jul 22, 2015.

  1. DJJI

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    16
    The title says it all.
    Is it possible to take a photo while you are recordning?

    I thought it was possible, and I thought I had done it before, but now I can`t do it so maybe
    I just fooled myself?

    Best regards, thanks;)
     
  2. spankybear

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Washington
    You know I have the same question... I thought the older app would let you take pic and vids at the same time... but I don't remember or maybe it was a dream?
     
  3. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,750
    Likes Received:
    3,462
    The Gopro camera can but not the Phantom 3.
     
  4. taroh

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Yokohama, Japan/Taichung, Taiwan
    That's one of my biggest complaint on P3. When I don't want to stop video, I later capture one frame from footage, but the quality is... I think it's a spec of camera firmware, and hope improved in future.
     
  5. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,852
    Likes Received:
    660
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    Nope. Not possible.
     
  6. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,536
    Likes Received:
    1,484
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Most times that this question comes up in the forum, the replies are that you can't take a still photo while recording video but that frame grabs from 4k video are very good. I only have a P3A, so I can't personally speak to the quality of a 4k frame grab. I can however verify that you can not take a still photo from the Phantom while recording video from the same Phantom.
     
    #6 Oso, Jul 22, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2015
  7. tvckz

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    TVC
    Nothing is impossible. You can take pictures from the ground while your quad is flying. How about that Mr Impossible?
     
  8. tvckz

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    TVC
    vlcsnap-2015-06-20-02h35m34s910.png
    Check this out. Original still from 4K P3P.
     
    #8 tvckz, Jul 22, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2015
  9. dysan911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    60
    While Video is rolling. Press red record button on top left shoulder of RC to Toggle Video recording STOP. Press shutter button on top right shoulder to capture a photo. Press top record button on left shoulder to resume video capture.

    I know it's not as convenient as just being able to do a continuous video record and snap some pics at the same time but its a workaround.

    :)
     
  10. Robin Slater

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Tamworth
    1080p 50 or 60 fps will give you a quality screen still. 4k bit more hit and miss as usually 25-30 fps sometimes get blurring
     
  11. Darron Brown

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    4
    It has to do with the camera sensor being exposed and the shutter being up while the sensor is capturing the 4k video. For a photo to be captured the camera would have to close the shutter and depending on the firmware get the aperture, shutter speed, and ISO (can change via the side dial, but can't directly change ISO) then capture the frame and continue in video mode. I'm not sure if a firmware update can take care of this or trick the camera in grabbing a still from the 4k video which is 12M capture and then resuming the video. ...just my understanding on what I've read.
     
  12. Robin Slater

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Tamworth
  13. Mark Stevens

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    17
    +1

    i was a bit bummed about this too since I used to do it all the time on my gopro. now i just stop the video, take a pic, and restart the video
     
  14. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,750
    Likes Received:
    3,462
    Outstanding? Not really.
    The still photo resolution is 4000 x 3000 pixels = 12MP
    The resolution from a frame of 1080 video = 1920 x 1080 = 2MP
    Then if your video card does not support 1920 x 1080, a screenshot could be less than 2MP.
    OK for Facebook but not for quality photos.
     
  15. taroh

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Yokohama, Japan/Taichung, Taiwan
    Many compact digicams (as somebody mentioned about GoPro), DSLRs with video recording function can capture one frame as still pic. Even video cameras can do. The shutter speed, ISO are the same (also aperture - but P3 has fixed aperture F2.8), in other word, one of the video frames is recorded as still.

    Then, as tvckz showed, capturing one frame in the video post-processing software is the same, you may think - if the still is JPEG, it's the same. But I want JPEG+RAW recording while video shooting.
    JPEG has only 8 bit depth (256 steps) of brightness for each red/green/blue. Most of the displays + our eyes cannot tell difference of brightness less than 1/256, so it's enough, but only if we don't change TONECURVE (CONTRAST/BRIGHTNESS) afterwards. For the purpose of correct contrast/brightness, or adding HDR effect, I sometimes change tonecurve. Compression is OK, but if expansion (i.e. 1/256 difference of brightness is expanded to 2/256 or more), we can observe ugly colored band at where original picture has wide plane and smoothly gradated - so called "colour banding" effect. This frequently occurs at the picture with sky. And P3 frequently takes picture with sky. :)
    http://media.bestofmicro.com/E/D/399685/original/banding.jpg

    This maybe solved if P3 camera can "shoot picture" or record the same one frame also as RAW (10 or more bits for each RGB) while shooting footage, the same shutter speed/ISO. And that'll be possible in future firmware, I guess.
     
  16. taroh

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Yokohama, Japan/Taichung, Taiwan
    And I forgot to restart the video couple of times in this single month... I don't know because I'm nervous while flying :) or while recording still (blue circle rotating) P3 don't accept "start video"...?
    By hardware limitation P3 cannot record video/still at the same time, it's OK. Stop video, shoot still, restarting video maybe great help.
     
  17. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    You can always clip a frame of a video and covert it to a still-- if you need one and forgot to take it. I have tried this and the stills were good quality. At 30 frames per second, you have a good selection.
     
  18. taroh

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Yokohama, Japan/Taichung, Taiwan
    I usually do so, if I only need JPEG quality (8+8+8 bit depth) image, in other words, don't do post processing for still pics. But as I wrote above, when I shoot wider dynamic range scene, such as dawn or sunset, I need to shoot RAW. Need to stop video, shoot stills, restart.
     
  19. acherman

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but these cameras, just like the GoPro, and most small digital cameras, do not have a "shutter" or curtain over the sensor. Sensor is wide open. And like the GoPro, the aperture is fixed. No moving parts in these cameras.
     
  20. ScottyT

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I hope this is something that can be incorporated. Oftentimes I would prefer not to stop video in order to take a still.
     
    acherman likes this.