Photo settings - making a right mess of them...

Reaction score
I have a relatively new P4, got it last week. Mainly as the wi-fi module in my P2V+ died and....it was a good excuse for upgrading. So my first flight, the video is all over the place, as when it was 'recording', I thought it was off - and vice versa. Next one, took some lovely video in 4K, circling a local landmark. Smooth, great shots, worked out how to video correctly, did a great 'point of interest' circuit and....I can't use it, as my iPad and my Mac won't play (or edit) 4K. Probably a way round it, so kept the footage files for later use. So went down to 1080P and, because I was filming a combine harvester with clouds of billowing dust, set it at 120fps so PARTS of the video could be shown in slo-mo in editing. But the whole lot is in slo-mo, I thought it would play at 'normal' speed and allow me to get decent slo-mo if required. I'm new to these camera settings, the 2V+ didn't have these many options and I can't find any decent info on using the camera settings. None of the footage I've taken really matters, I'm just practicing, but I keep getting it wrong. If I want editable 1080P footage, at 'live' speed, do I have to set at 24fps? If I then decide I need some slo-mo footage, do I have to change the settings (mid flight) to 120fps? I'm not happy messing around with any settings mid-flight but can do so if required. Suggestions? (The pictures I'm taking are fine - examples below).

06236c5d919f146fce6418949b2a7114_thumb.jpg
ed4178b78d8d58f033f872f7963aa0f1_thumb.jpg
252dcbb761a3015e5e60150356267ad8_thumb.jpg
]
58864546fa2d3183cfda2e73fb9e0d0d_thumb.jpg

Last edited:
Res vs fps already discussed here but lot of information so you might want grab a drink, relax and take time to read [emoji1]

4k or 1080/120fps, which setting will offer best video ??

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app