Photo op disappointment.

Reaction score
So Thursday I went to a local parachute center and talked to the site operator about doing some video. He was cool about it and even said his video guy has a similar unit. So this morning I got all set up, charged, extra blades and off I went. Was there for about 30 min had quite the crowd everyone was having a good time, then it happened. That one guy, the one we all fear. He came up to me and ask, are you a skydiver, I say no I'm a pilot, I fly drones. He lost it, said you can't fly here, no one wants those in the sky your invading our space you need to leave. I told the guy that I had authorization from the site leader, but he did not care.

Well, not wanting any bad mojo and wanting to be able to return in the future, landed my pv2, wrapped everything up thanked the jump center and left.

I have two questions,

1. What would you have done?
2. Do you think they will ever be the norm as the cell phone has become?

I have never been skydiving, but to be honest if I did I sure wouldn't want quads flying around my landing zone. Hate you missed your OP though.

tizzl10 said:
I have never been skydiving, but to be honest if I did I sure wouldn't want quads flying around my landing zone. Hate you missed your OP though.

I am a skydiver and a phantom pilot
I would not for any reason want a phantom in the air were I am flying my parachute
Im moving at 25 -55 mph forward and even faster downward last thing I want coming out of a turn is
a 2 pound phantom with whirling blades in my path.This could not just be a injury but at those speeds could mean death
I know we all have the best intentions but skydivers come into the landing area from every direction and are all fast movers.
Some are very aware others not so much but either way I can tell you it would be darn hard to see and dangerous to avoid