Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Photo issue after firmware update

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by Meta4, Jun 16, 2015.

  1. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,724
    Likes Received:
    3,440
    My Advanced has an issue following the firmware update.
    I see a number also complaining on the dji forum with the same issue.
    Every still comes with a few white lines at the bottom of the frame.
    Like this ... full width of image
    [​IMG]
    Detail
    [​IMG]
     
  2. envisionabove

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Tim in San Diego
    How many photo's have that? I'll be going out tomorrow and do some but its a P3P.
     
  3. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,724
    Likes Received:
    3,440
    Every one ... and formatted the sd card now and it looks like it's not going away.
    Easy to see if your machine has it ... just click off a sample image.
     
  4. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,523
    Likes Received:
    1,476
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    After reading this post, I started up my P3A to check it out. I flew with the new FW earlier, but I didn't think to take any photos. This time I took a few photos and I didn't see any issues. No lines at all in 5 frames.

    One thing to note is that it was inside and I wasn't flying when I did the test.
     
  5. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,523
    Likes Received:
    1,476
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    I just went outside to send it up about 50 feet and I took 5 more photos. All were fine with no lines at all.
     
  6. Jeff48920

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    502
    Location:
    Pomona, IL
    P3P running 1.2.6. No lines either RAW or JPG
     
  7. Chris P Duck

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    133
    Location:
    Chester, UK
    I have exactly the same on my P3A (to the point that mine looks to be the same 3 horizontal, stacked lines, 3 short then 3 long)

    Also happened after the firmware update.

    Pics only, not visible in videos
     
  8. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    Just checked mine and its ok.
     
  9. Chris P Duck

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    133
    Location:
    Chester, UK
    [​IMG]

    So I assume if your pics are already set to 16:9 you wouldn't notice.
     
    Oso and Kevin H. like this.
  10. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    Good point..
     
  11. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,724
    Likes Received:
    3,440
    16:9 simply trims the bottom and top - same as you can do yourself in software.
    16:9 gives a smaller image than fixing in Photoshop.
    I hope DJI fix this soon.
    It's frustrating when firmware makes a good product bad.
     
    #11 Meta4, Jun 17, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2015
  12. Jeff48920

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    502
    Location:
    Pomona, IL
    Must be a P3A issue. I am in 4:3 and no issues with the P3P after FW upgrade
     
  13. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,724
    Likes Received:
    3,440
    I'm not sure ... there are other Advanced users that don't have it either.

    Good to hear that DJI are on to it though.
    Two emails and two hours with "live chat" and I still haven't heard anything from them.
     
  14. Kevin H.

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    10
    Meta4,
    Can you verify that you did not have this problem in 4:3 prior to updating the firmware, and you do have the problem after updating to v1.2.7 for P3A? My P3A is brand new and I've only ever run v1.2.7 so I want to be sure it's not a problem with the sensor and is definitely related to the v1.2.7. Otherwise, I may consider returning the unit.

    Thanks,

    Kevin H.
     
  15. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,724
    Likes Received:
    3,440
    It appeared after the firmware update. Several others on the DJI forum have the same issue.
    http://forum.dji.com/thread-21633-1-1.html
    It's just lucky it's at the very bottom of the image and easily Photoshopped.
    I hope DJI can fix it quickly.
     
    Kevin H. likes this.
  16. Kevin H.

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    10
    Jeff,
    P3P and P3A were upgraded to different FW versions: v1.2.6 vs v1.2.7 respectively. So it wouldn't be off-the-wall for P3A to have the problem and not P3P.

    Kevin H.
     
  17. RyanK

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    46
    I have noticed some lines on the top of my photos since upgrading, rather than the bottom. But it hasn't been on every one of them.
     
  18. dhaslam

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    9
    I don't use 4:3 but on changing to that format the lines appear, three short lines and three long, not quite SOS in morse code, but close. I did have a different problem today. The camera wouldn't change back to video from stills, either with the video button or the app, but that was shortly before the app crashed so it may be caused by the same error that terminates the app. That is with P3A and Android. When software that has a memory error is recompiled it tends to generate new effects that are not always easy to replicate. A consistent fault like that should be possible to find.
     
  19. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    Screen Shot 2015-06-17 at 18.36.12.png Ok, I put the camera in 4:3 this afternoon and on my advanced I have the same problem.
     
  20. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    i did contact dji and and an instant live chat !

    Screen Shot 2015-06-17 at 18.42.18.png