Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom won't go into gps/compass calibration mode

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by mkaiserco, Sep 28, 2013.

  1. mkaiserco

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I first got my Phantom, I was able to perform the calibration procedure (switch control mode switch quickly 10 times, rotate on horizontal axis, rotate on vertical axis) just fine. I remember it didn't go into the calibration mode (LED goes solid yellow) the first time I switched 10 times, but maybe it was the second or third time that it turned solid yellow.

    But now no matter how many times I switch modes, the yellow LED never comes on. The green LED just keeps blinking, telling me that Reggie (long story) wants to fly.

    Does anyone have any suggestions for me?

    Thanks.

    Mike
     
  2. mkaiserco

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Gordo

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I experienced a similar issue, but it was after a firmware upgrade, but on my very first flight.

    No mater how many times I tried the quick 10 switch trick it would not work. So I took off and flew it until the battery needed to be swapped. With a fresh battery I tried again, and it went into calibration mode.

    Another thing I noticed is that after the firmware upgrade to 4.0 it goes into calibration mode after 6 switches; so you might want to try six. I just stumbled on this when I saw a YouTube video on the 4.0 upgrade that someone did and I noticed they only flipped the switch 6 times, so I tried it.

    Good Luck
     
  4. FangsCPO

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Chula Vista, CA

    Thanks perfect advice!!! I'm good to go now for my Quadcopter.
     
  5. MrMediaGuy

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Poor Reggie. :( Just for grins, you might want to connect to NAZA Assistant and verify that when you are flipping the mode switch on the TX that it's actually showing the changes on the screen. Possible that something is just wonky with the switch or calibration and that when you're moving it it's not actually sending the control change. If that turns out to be the case, you might want to try a standalone TX calibratoin (Procedure A5):

    http://download.dji-innovations.com/dow ... ual_en.pdf

    And as noted, in latest firmware only 6 "flips" are needed. Try starting and ending on ATTI (middle position).
     
  6. mkaiserco

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Many thanks to all who have replied. I'll try your suggestions later today or tomorrow and will report back.

    Mike
     
  7. Cutstone

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Odense, Denmark
    Re: Sv: Phantom won't go into gps/compass calibration mode

    I noticed, I had to flip slower after software upgrade.

    Sendt fra min HTC Desire HD med Tapatalk2
     
  8. halloosin8

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, MrMediaGuy! I was having the same problems as those described above but your method fixed it for me. That is, starting on the middle ATTI position and cycling six times only. Cheers!