Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom will not start up

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by seahag, Oct 6, 2014.

  1. seahag

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Phantom 2 and only use it for filming with my GoPro.
    I take it to a location and complete a fly for maybe 10 minutes or so. No problems.
    I then take it to a second location a few minutes later and no go. Prior to the "no go" I have an intermittent slow flashing green light, but as soon as I hit the start props levers on the control, these lights change to quick flashing yellow. Any ideas please, as it is frustrating not getting that second fly?
    Cheers
     
  2. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    is there any possibility you moved to within 5 miles of an airport and entered a flight-restriction zone?
     
  3. seahag

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I live on a remote Pacific Island and everywhere on the Island is within 2 miles of the airport.

    I've had this problem basically since I've had the Phantom. It will always fly on the first flight, but never on the second, unless I do not turn it off while I travel between the locations. But I then run the risk of the quad returning to the original location if something goes wrong. Each location is never more than I mile apart, and usually much less.
    Any ideas?
     
  4. seahag

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wondering if anyone had any more thoughts on this as it is quite frustrating
     
  5. sergekouper

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    London UK
    I'm not sure if you can do this with yours, but I use a P2 as well, and my firmware is V2.0. No fly restrictions zones whatsoever...
    Then it is your responsibility to fly err.. responsibly. :)
    Once it works again you may want to give a call to the local ATC and let them know that and when you are going to fly around. They might be just glad to know it and you would be covered.
     
  6. seahag

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is virtually no restricted air space to fly where I live.
    My problem is getting a second flight from my machine.
    Perhaps this is normal , and if it is, please post
     
  7. sergekouper

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    London UK
    Doesn't sound normal for sure!
     
  8. seahag

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any hints on a fix?
     
  9. ussvertigo

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    South Georgia
    If you go to the second location where it would not start first, would it start then?
     
  10. phynesse

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't yellow flashing mean IMU calibration required?
    Would make sense, since transport can bump the Phantom and disturb IMU.