Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom wanted to fly away

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Help' started by drewgss, Jun 20, 2014.

  1. drewgss

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,
    I am new at this, so I am looking for help,
    I have a Phantom 2 with GoPro 3 black 3d gimbal.
    I ran a test flight and the Phantom worked great
    the next day I added a FPV Kit

    "DJI Phantom 2 Advance FPV Kit for HERO 3 (7" LCD, 5.8 Ghz, 1300ft/400m Range)"
    http://www.acesdeals.biz/apps/webstore/ ... ow/4551210

    powered it up was able to view thru the camera fine and all LEDs were green.

    I went back the next day, calibrated the Phantom and tried to fly and film.
    Again LEDs green but the Phantom wanted to fly away so I went thru the calibration process 6 more time and it still wanted to fly away.

    I removed the FPV transmitter and set the Phantom back to how it was setup on the test day
    went thru the calibration process 4 more time but it still wants to fly away

    I hooked it up to the PHANTOM 2 ASSISTANT SOFTWARE V3.0
    and everything looks good to me (but I am new to this)

    I am going to upgrade to @Phantom 2 Main Controller Firmware* v3.04 - from v3.02 later today

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Uncle Meat

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Prattville Alabama
    Can you be a little more specific with what you mean when you say "wanted to fly away". How were you getting it to come back if it wanted to fly away?

    U.M.
     
  3. drewgss

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    My son is the pilot (thank you call of duty and 7 years of training)
    At take off he it starts to drift upward he pins the stick to bring it down
    it then starts down drifts up and down and so far I have been able to grab it out of the air.


    Here is the link to the first test flight where it really flew and filmed beyond my expectations
    http://www.howecaverns.com/test-1-air.php
     
  4. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    Could need the sticks calibrating, first on the controller in RC then connected to the craft in Phantom Assistant.
    Also the gains should be set to default, there's a button to click on the assistant software.
     
  5. drewgss

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will try that an post the out come
     
  6. drewgss

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I now have updated to to 3.00.4

    I calibrated the the RC first and then again thur the Phantom assistant
    still the same thing
     
  7. drewgss

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still no answer
     
  8. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    Which calibration are you actually doing? Try doing an advanced IMU calibration first then a compass calibration (aka; Compass dance) That looked like compass drift - when you do advanced calibration, check compass #s they should be between 1200-1800