Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom vision 2 extended range upgrade

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by Wakethis2006, Apr 15, 2014.

  1. Wakethis2006

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I added the dual 2.4 ghz tp link antennas and modified it but in still getting the same distance before my phone loses connections and I'm only getting around 1000 ft before the phantom switches into fail safe and comes back. I followed the video perfectly on doing it am I missing something? Do I need to change anything in the antenna or the receiver or transmitter. Please help
     
  2. mr_3_0_5

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0

    Please check that your pigtails are good some have had shorting problems also make sure that you using rp-Sma and Sma properly
    Meaning check that there is a pin in each connection
     
  3. Wakethis2006

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I rechecked everything and it all seemed good no pinches or anything and both things had a pin in it.
     
  4. phantomguy

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    2
    modifying your range extender has zero to do with the quad going into RTH mode.
     
  5. FlyingFox

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Cheshire UK
    Where did you buy your pigtails from, I had problems initially with mine not improving my video distance and the pigtail I got from Amazon appeared to be okay, no kinks etc , I bought some slightly dearer ones and my set up then worked fine.
    So the cheap ones were rubbish.
     
  6. Wakethis2006

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got mine off amazon. I got 2 sets so maybe I'll try the other set. The I know the camera has nothing to do with trh but what's the distance on the transmitter for the phantom?
     
  7. FlyingFox

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Cheshire UK
  8. mr_3_0_5

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea just noticed that too the RTH is triggered by your 5.8 control signal
    Do you have it in FCC mode?
    May need to upgrade the 5.8 antenna
     
  9. DxJxI

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Phantom 2 w/ Zenmuse fly's at 2.4Ghz - that's all. That's why you need to have the WiFi disabled on the GoPro (also 2.4Ghz) so you don't have any interference during flight.
    ************************************************

    'Phantom 2 Vision' fly's at at 5.8Ghz and uses the 2.4Ghz as a WiFi from camera (FC200) - To connect to your Vision App on your phone through the WiFi repeater. - They are two different wireless bands, so there is no interference during flight.

    Look behind your transmitter - it should say 5.728-5.85Ghz

    You basically enhanced your video (2.4Ghz) output not your flight distance (5.8Ghz).

    Hope this helps.
     
  10. gfredrone

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    191
    Put some Energizer Ultimate Lithium AA Battery's in your controller and report back. I did about 30 full P2V battery flights before having to change them out due to intermittent control loss past 1000-1500 ft. After replacing I can go back out to 4000+ feet without control loss and RTH kicking in.
     
  11. mr_3_0_5

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0

    These are the ones I have as well
     
  12. GMANNZ

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand

    yeah they be good, but **** expensive here still in NZ ... think last packet of 4x was like $28 bucks here
     
  13. BenDronePilot

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    131
    Better to buy high quality rechargeable batteries. Much better value too in the long run as well as better power as you can always keep them topped off. No matter how good or "ultimate" a regular battery is it won't take very long till the power is below that of an every day rechargeable battery. I use Sanyo XxX rechargeable AA eneloop batteries. They also work on extreme temperature conditions and work great.
     
  14. Wakethis2006

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will see what mode I am in on my transmitter and check that. I know the antennas didn't give me more Rangel minus my fav but I'm losing connections at 900 feet on my phone. Will update after I figure out what mode I'm in today