Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom Transmitter Won't Turn On!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hovikg, Feb 23, 2014.

  1. hovikg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I was flying the Phantom all day filming some beautiful scenery in Costa Rica when I decided to change the camera angle, stuck a screwdriver behind the transmitter, the camera turned fine, just like it's supposed to, I flew around a bit more, wanted to change the angle again, so I did the same with the screwdriver, but the camera didn't move. Phantom was still hovering no problem, so I landed and tried to fix the angle on the ground. Couldn't get it to work so I decided to turn everything off and restart and that's when the transmitter stopper turning on. I tried 2 different sets of batteries so it's definitely not the charge. I turn it on and the red light does not come on.

    Any ideas, guys? Known issue? Did I mess something up when trying to adjust the angle with a screwdriver? What are my options here? New transmitter? I hope there's a way to fix this now as I still have a full day in CR before heading back to NY and would love to get more shots. Thanks!
     
  2. ericdes

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure the batteries touch firmly on both ends inside the compartment. Some people complained that the batteries are loose in there.
     
  3. hovikg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Thanks, tried that, still nothing.
     
  4. hovikg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Guess I'm going to have to order a new transmitter... ugh... ordering new parts never ends with this thing. Another $65 down the drain...
     
  5. fizzviic

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a wild guess, but there is a provision in the transmitter to change from International to US frequency. I think it is accessed through the same hole. Please check the manual regarding initial set up.
     
  6. fizzviic

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    One more thought. If memory serves, when you turn on the transmitter you will see on the Power On LED, and hear either one or two beeps. I dont remember which is which but the signify which frequency your transmitter is set to.
     
  7. hovikg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Thanks, but I get no LED light or beeps at all. I turn it on and nothing happens.
     
  8. fizzviic

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it will not turn on at all, you might consider opening it up and checking for a loose wire or "cold solder" joint. If so you could fix it yourself.
     
  9. Big Ben

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Too little information. Are we talking P2V/FC40 here with a gimbal? Which also has a screw for changing from CE to FCC? Not sure what the second hole in the 2.4 GHz Tx does. If you accidentally turned the bottom screw you might have set it to an in-between position while CE/FCC requires you to turn it all the way. If that's the case perhaps neither CE nor FCC mode is selected and it won't work.
     
  10. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    +1. Turn the bottom pot either full travel clockwise or full travel anti-c - you may well have tweaked the wrong one not the gimbal control and are floating in no-man's land between the two values the tx is expecting to see from the bottom pot...
     
  11. hovikg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Big Ben: it's a Phantom 1 with gimbal

    Here's what it looks like inside:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  12. hovikg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Hey guys, so I'm planning on ordering a new transmitter from BandH - http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/9 ... _dsss.html

    One of the reviews says:
    After dropping and breaking my original DJI Radio Controller, I purchased a new one and it worked great after I linked it to the Phantom. HOWEVER - I bought 2 other radio controllers before I found the right one. DJI has several model's that all look alike but are internally different. Find out what your Phantom requires exactly before ordering a new controller.

    How would I know if the one I order is the right one?
     
  13. reALIGNed

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    S.E. Wisconsin
    I would call B&H and ask them this question. Perhaps they have a break down chart. My Phantom is version 1.1.1
     
  14. JeffB2002

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    That component on the left of the board and above the gold square plate looks like it is burnt.
     
  15. Bgilliland

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check the fuse. It's on the right just above the power connector, between the two gold adjustments.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  16. hovikg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY