Phantom Trainer?

Bud

Reaction score
Hiya

Another newbie here :eek: Looks like I've found the right place for my new chosen hobby/obsession :cool:

Very keen to get my first quad and have set my sights on getting a FC40 very soon :)
As I'm new to quads (and have only very limited experience of heli's) I thought it would be a good idea to see if there was a cheap 'toy' quad around that would at least enable me to get to grips with the basics of flying one and enable me to practice and get the general feel for direction/orientation etc. Can anyone recommend a cheap 'toy' that mimics the same controls and flys OK indoors without smashing the place up (or itself) when it all goes wrong! I realise it won't be anywhere near as refined as a Phantom but I'm only really concerned with getting to grips with the controls before I'm let loose on a much pricier piece of kit.

Also, I have come across a few s'ware simulators but they are so pricey I think I will just have to fly and try the real thing! Unless someone could suggest one I may have missed....

Can't wait to get going!
Thanks

The Heli-X simulator has a rather nice Phantom. The demo version is free and very functional. You will need some sort of controller, but it's a great way to learn to fly a Phantom.

http://www.heli-x.net

Disclaimer: Not a product endorsement and I have no connection with them.

I think a simulator would be the way to go.
They might be pricey, but you're not going to find a quad that behaves and flies like a Phantom for any less than a decent sim... probably more.