Phantom stability

Reaction score
A friend of mine inherited a phantom that the owner could never get to fly or turn on for that matter. Being a p3 owner, we got it in working condition relatively quickly. When we went to fly and deciphered the meaning of the lights, we were ready to take off. We turned it on and it was very unstable (stock props) and immediately went down in my yard. It was fine and we went for another go. I better mention it had prop guards as well. This time I flew. Being an experienced phantom pilot I thought I could be successful. Boy was I wrong. After a successful takeoff it seemed stable in the air. It went out of control and I dodged the power lines. I figured the best thing to do was bring it down in my field across the road. It quickly lost what little altitude it had and went down hard in the field. I knew I couldn't perform a controlled landing. The prop guards were broken, battery out of the compartment, and quite muddy. The GoPro was fine. After that fateful day one motor spun up slower than the rest and it never flew again:( A local hobby shop determined the wiring is fried and motor replacement is necessary. What caused this? Any tips

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app

What caused this? Any tips

To try to answer your question, it is necessary to add more technical details in addition to the place you were fliing and crash.

1) what Phantom are we speaking about(I suppose P1, but what version)?
2)Did you calibrate IMU and compass before flying the first time?
3)What color was your led when you took off and when you landed(or crashed)?
4)Your right switch was selecting GPS-ATTI(top position), ATTI(intermediate position)?
5)The right switch bottom position was programmed for ATTI, Manual or return to home?And, for any reason was the bottom position selected at the take-off?
6)Can you post the settings of your gains?