Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom Simulator

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by Shrimpfarmer, Dec 21, 2013.

  1. Shrimpfarmer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sussex UK
  2. Bigvern

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    Looks OK what lead do you need to plug the transmitter in ?
    Cheers
    Glen
     
  3. Shrimpfarmer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sussex UK
    I didn't bother with my transmitter, U just used an old PS3 controller via bluetooth. I use a Mac and as yet I have not come across a transmitter that works with the Mac. Heli-X is available for Mac, PC and Linux. Using a PS3 controller is not as good as using a transmitter but then again its no big deal as its all about learning the stick movements and its plenty good enough for that.
     
  4. Monster2

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Shrimpfarmer, does it have the controls already configured? I've tried the demo version, using a generic quad, but I couldn't configure the controls for the life of me.

    Mind sharing the config with me?
     
  5. Shrimpfarmer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sussex UK
    Monster2

    I don't think I have a config file to share but I will check. In order to fly the phantom model you have to buy the full version, however any quad will do for practice.

    All I did was configure the game controller.

    1. Make sure your controller is already connected and recognised by the computer. In my case I just need to link it via bluetooth.
    2. Then start the sim
    3. Menu - Configuration - Controller
    4. In pop up window click sticks
    5. Centre your sticks - click next
    6. Move all sticks to maximums - I just circle mine at full tilt - click next
    7. Give maximum positive collective pitch ( I push the left stick all the way up) - next
    8. Give maximum cyclic roll to the right - (Push right stick furthest right) - next
    9. Maximum cyclic pitch forward - (Right stick all the way forward) - next
    10. Rudder stick maximum left - (Left stick all the way left) - next
    11. Message saying its finished
    12. Just click ok boxes to return to sim - no need to save settings

    Heli controller should then be ready to fly.

    Ooops - forgot an important step!

    Assign a switch or keyboard key to idle up 1 and another to idle up 2 otherwise the engines will not start! Idle up 1 gives you normal stabilised flight mode, idle up 2 gives you full manual control.

    Note

    On my PS3 controller the aircraft constantly wants to climb gently, so I always need a little negative stick. If you have a propper controller hopefully it will just hover for you with hands off sticks.

    Hope this helps
     
  6. Monster2

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for helping out Shrimpfarmer!

    How are your stick's assigned to the functions?
    Mine look very suspicious. Can you please show yours?
    [​IMG]

    I guess that's my problem, I have no idea what cyclic roll/nick/etc mean for a quad.
     
  7. Shrimpfarmer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sussex UK
    Hi

    This is a picture of mine. However I see your using a PC and mine is from a Mac. I guess you choose the titles for the controller from the various drop down menus on the axis. My version of Heli-X did that automatically during the setup.


    Mmmm how do I add a photo to the post ? I have tried attaching it, lets see if that works?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Shrimpfarmer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sussex UK
    Looks like you have a controller with less noise than mine :)
     
  9. Monster2

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    That did the trick! Thanks!
    With the demo quad, with sticks in central position, it flies straight up, and it's hard to keep it in a fixed position. I guess that's a feature of the quad, and won't be a problem with the Phantom.

    I have a Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2, and it's nice, but the sticks are non-linear, and feels a bit weird.

    I also have a this, http://www.amazon.co.jp/gp/product/B005SNO4C4/ref=oh_details_o07_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 which I'm gonna try next, before I spring for the full Heli-X.

    Thanks a lot for this! I've posted on Heli-X and a couple of other forums, couple of weeks ago, but nobody was able to help me!
    Thanks!!
     
  10. Shrimpfarmer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sussex UK
    I am pleased you have it working. Now get some stick time during this awful weather :)
     
  11. Elginet

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Illinois
    No Phantom for Phoenix Sim yet huh?
     
  12. Shrimpfarmer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sussex UK
    Not that I know of. Its a shame. Any quad will do for flying practice, however its only when you have an accurate visual model of the phantom can you start learning how to control it when its a speck in the sky and you have lost orientation. I don't plan on letting mine get that far away in the real world but its good to have a strategy should a malfunction take it away.
     
  13. garygid

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Laguna Hills, Orange county, CA 92653
    What is the best simulator for the P2V?
    There is Heli-x, Real Flight 6 or 7, and ... what else?

    Perhaps this is discussed elsewhere?
    If so, a link please?
     
  14. tgaynor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Would love to know what simulators people are using and if any of them work on the Mac. :mrgreen:
     
  15. BJay

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Auckland
    does anyone know if i can use a Ps3 controller with this?
     
  16. Shrimpfarmer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sussex UK
    Yes I know because I am using a PS3 controller on my MAC ! :ugeek:
     
  17. BJay

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Auckland
    for windows?
     
  18. Shrimpfarmer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sussex UK
  19. garygid

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Laguna Hills, Orange county, CA 92653
  20. garygid

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Laguna Hills, Orange county, CA 92653