Phantom release schedule?

Reaction score
The Mavic hype and excitement is high right now and of course I'd love to have one too. But, with technology advancing so fast I'm sure the next Phantom will have even more capabilities.

As the Phantom 4 is my first drone and I have no experience in how often they update the Phantom series, when do you think the Phantom 5, or whatever they call it, will be released?

Do they update the Phantom series once a year, sooner, longer?

Reactions: direkMel
If there is a plan to introduce new Phantom next year, it should be available by ~~~ Apr 2017. Guess work!

Why would there need to be a new Phantom. The Mavic could be the new base and improvements could be delivered on that platform. They are very similar in performance, but the Mavic form factor is a big leap forward. If the video quality could be got up to the same level, the only thing I can think of which might be better on the Phantom is high wind performance.

Why would there need to be a new Phantom.
I guess for those people who don't want a Mavic (or any of the other drones DJI makes)? The Mavic is a new drone in the DJI lineup. It's not a Phantom replacement. It might be a Phantom replacement for you though ;)

I like the mavic's portability, I love my P4 and going to keep it, the next dji release I am waiting for is the inspire. Many want to go smaller, I want to go a bit bigger with hopefully 2 cameras on board. For me flying a camera is better if the experience is shared. I got headplays so my wife can live the flight with me, if she could control the camera as I fly the bird that would be tops.

Reactions: JWH
I'm looking at bigger for my business, contemplating the Matrice 100. But just curious about DJI release schedules as I'm sure 360 degree OA is coming, along with other goodies, that could add benefits to my business and maybe leave the Phantom 4 for my personal use.