Phantom P3A or a Mavic?

Reaction score
I just saw a Mavic flying today for the first time.
My first impression was how quiet it was and the portability is fantastic.

I am new to drones. I have a line on a P3A, lightly used and never crashed, with an extra battery for $400 original box.
I was all set to go with this deal then I saw the Mavic today.

I cannot get over how small it folds.

I understand the price difference is a lot. Taking price out of the equation what would you do?
How do their cameras compare for both video and stills?

Thanks for any tips.

The P3A camera is nearly identical to the P4 camera. Here's a comparison showing the differences between the P4 and Mavic cameras:

Reactions: SHRED
I just saw a Mavic flying today for the first time.
My first impression was how quiet it was and the portability is fantastic.

I am new to drones. I have a line on a P3A, lightly used and never crashed, with an extra battery for $400 original box.
I was all set to go with this deal then I saw the Mavic today.

I cannot get over how small it folds.

I understand the price difference is a lot. Taking price out of the equation what would you do?

Thanks for any tips.

I saw P3 Pro refurbs for $550 yesterday. Not sure if its against the rules to tell you where so look around the usual net vendors and right now that is the best deal out there. But before I saw that last Saturday I bought a used P3 advanced too with an extra battery and a DJI hardcase for $535. It had 5 hours of flight time. Pristine. I am very happy :)

Reactions: Casey Cassity
I think the Mavics generally a better drone all round, but it it worth the extra price? To me it's not, got a P3A last year and don't regret it :)

I guess it's subjective to requirements... If you want something to carry with you easily and get ok pics. Or if you want specific drone journeys to get good pics. You need to acertain what exactly it is you want it for...

Reactions: SHRED