Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom not stable after upgrade

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Smiddie, Nov 15, 2013.

  1. Smiddie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swakopmund Namibia
    Hi
    I recently upgraded the firmware on my Phantom to v4.02 . Also did the default config. parameters afterwards, Now when in GPS hold my Phantom slowly does the toilet bowl effect.
    When I yaw to any direction the Phantoms drifts quickly and completely off its mark and continues until I input some stick to stop. Also the Altitude varies a lot in both Atti and GPS hold positions.
    Any thing I am doing wrong or did wrong during firmware upgrade??
    Smiddie
     
  2. cczx14r

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't offer a solution to your problem other than to say I have read on another forum that more than one person has experienced the same thing after a v4.02 upgrade. That is the reason I have chosen to remain at v4.0.
    So, if you wanted to, simply reinstall v4.0 and see if that cures the issue.
     
  3. Dave Pitman

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Olympic Peninsula USA
    Do the compass dance and all should be good. I have found than even if you fly from the same spot in your yard. Calibrating the compass before each flight, or series of flights if your feeding multiple batteries, makes the GPS hold much better. You would think that if you start from the same place each time, not miles away, that you wouldn't need to calibrate, but I think that you do. For instance, my Garmin hand held GPS needs the compass calibrated in the same way as the Phantom any time you remove and reinstall batteries. The Phantom may be no different.

    Firmware vs. 4.02 is pretty solid. v4.00 has a known critical bug that can result in a crash landing.
     
  4. Smiddie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swakopmund Namibia
    Thanks Guys
    I just did another Default config parameter download and calibrated.
    I do the calibration dance just about every time I insert a fresh battery.
    Now night has fallen with a strong wind so I will test tomorrow.
    Thanks again
    Smiddie
     
  5. SkyMedia

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Smiddie, it sounds like you need to reset the compass then it should be fine.there is a tutorial on You Tube
    Regards Alan
    Windhoek